Skip to main content
Newly retired or still in school, looking for a new part-time experience where you live? Click here
The Shenkman Arts Centre is open to the public in accordance with current public health regulations. See Updates for full information.

CIMAFUNK

Presented by Shenkman Arts Centre and Axé Worldfest

Get ready for the sounds of Cuban music mixed with Afro-Latin and fusion of Black cultures. Cimafunk is an Afro-Cuban rockstar that is not to be missed. By bringing out the best in Cuban rhythms and traditions, and infusing sounds and styles from Africa and the U.S., Cimafunk has created something unique and special.

His second album El Alimento was released in October 2021 and was ranked number three for the Best Spanish-Language and Bilingual Albums of 2021 and #23 of the 50 Best Albums of 2021 by Rolling Stone as well as being among NPR’s Best Latin Music of 2021 and number one of Le Monde’s Latin Music favorites. This album is a collection of which masterfully blends Afro-Cuban sounds and rhythms with global funk, hip hop and soul

According to The New York Times, Cimafunk is on “Quest to Create One Nation Under a Groove,” NPR says he’s on his way to “world domination by way of the funk and clave,” and Rolling Stone describes his music as “an electrifying combination of funk and soul, layered over the five-beatclave, or the heartbeat of Cuban music, brought to Cuba by enslaved people from West Africa.”

Be ready to party and book your tickets today!

 

Support for this project comes from Ontario Presents, World Music Development Program

This program is generously supported by the Department of Canadian Heritage

Passer au contenu principal
Le Centre des arts Shenkman est ouvert au public, conformément aux règles de santé publique actuelles. Consultez la section des mises à jour pour en savoir plus.

CIMAFUNK

Présenté par Centre des arts Shenkman et Axé Worldfest

Préparez-vous à savourer les sonorités de la musique cubaine associée à l’afro-latin et à la fusion des cultures noires. Cimafunk est une vedette du rock afro-cubaine incontournable. En tirant le meilleur des rythmes et des traditions de Cuba, et en y intégrant des sons et des styles africains et américains, Cimafunk a créé quelque chose de tout à fait unique et particulier.

Son second album El Alimento, sorti en octobre 2021, s’est hissé à la troisième place du palmarès des meilleurs albums en espagnol et bilingues de 2021 et au 23e rang des 50 meilleurs albums de 2021 du magazine Rolling Stone. Il a été classé par NPR parmi les meilleurs albums de musique latine de 2021 et le journal Le Monde en a fait son album de musique latine favori. Cette collection de chansons associe magistralement les sons et les rythmes afro-cubains aux tendances internationales de funk, de hip-hop et de soul.

Selon le New York Times, Cimafunk « cherche à créer une nation grâce à une musique inspirée », et NPR soutient même qu’il est en voie de « dominer le monde par le funk et la clave ». Rolling Stone décrit sa musique comme étant « une combinaison électrisante de funk et de soul, superposée sur le rythme à cinq temps des claves, véritable battement de cœur de la musique cubaine introduit par les esclaves venus de l’Afrique occidentale ».

Préparez-vous à faire la fête et réservez vos billets dès aujourd’hui!

 

Le soutien accordé à ce projet provient du World Music Development Program d'Ontario Presents

Ce programme bénéficie du généreux soutien du ministère du Patrimoine canadien