Skip to main content
Newly retired or still in school, looking for a new part-time experience where you live? Click here
The Shenkman Arts Centre is open to the public in accordance with current public health regulations. See Updates for full information.

William Prince

Presented by Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

This JUNO award winning First Nations artist is set take the Shenkman Arts Centre.

William Prince draws on influences, from the gospel of his childhood to the pantheon of classic outlaw country singers, baseball and the great beyond, shape his approach to songcraft, a masterclass in skillful simplicity.

Prince’s JUNO Award winning debut Earthly Days introduced the songwriter’s poignant philosophy and rich baritone to the world. His breakout song “Breathless,” found audiences worldwide. Prince followed up with Reliever, released February 2020. For this album, Prince began with a single word, Reliever, which informed a collection that explored how peace is found. Relievers come in all forms; for Prince, it is song.

Prince surprised fans with a second new album in 2020. Gospel First Nation, released in October, is a “21st Century Northern Interlake Country Gospel” collection that tells stories of family and faith in the age of grief. The album explores Prince’s own family tree, the places and music that shaped his childhood, and explores the extremely complicated relationship of faith and colonialism with grace and empathy.

Sing Me a Song | William Prince and Serena Ryder

Passer au contenu principal
Vous avez pris votre retraite récemment ou bien vous êtes aux études, aimeriez travailler à temps partiel et à la recherche d’une expérience nouvelle près de votre domicile?. Cliquez ici
Le Centre des arts Shenkman est ouvert au public, conformément aux règles de santé publique actuelles. Consultez la section des mises à jour pour en savoir plus.

William Prince

Présenté par Centre des arts Shenkman Présente

Cet artiste des Premières Nations, lauréat d’un prix JUNO, viendra fouler la scène du Centre des arts Shenkman.

William Prince puise dans ses influences, du gospel de son enfance au panthéon des chanteurs classiques de country hors-la-loi, en passant par le baseball et l’au-delà, pour façonner son approche de la composition, un cours magistral de simplicité habile.

Earthly Days, le premier album de Prince, primé par un JUNO, a fait connaître au monde entier la philosophie poignante et la riche voix baryton de l’auteur-compositeur. Sa chanson phare, « Breathless », a trouvé un public dans le monde entier. William Prince a enchaîné avec « Reliever », paru en février 2020. Pour cet album, l’artiste s’est inspiré d’un seul mot, Reliever (ou source de soulagement), qui a donné naissance à une collection explorant la manière de trouver la paix. Les sources de soulagement se présentent sous toutes les formes; pour William Prince, c’est la musique.

William Prince a surpris ses admirateurs en leur proposant un deuxième nouvel album en 2020. « Gospel First Nation », paru en octobre, est une collection de « musique gospel du XXIe siècle de la région nord de l’interlac » qui raconte des histoires de famille et de foi à l’ère du deuil. L’album explore l’arbre généalogique de William Prince, les lieux et la musique qui ont façonné son enfance, et aborde avec grâce et empathie la relation extrêmement complexe entre la foi et le colonialisme.

Sing Me a Song | William Prince and Serena Ryder