Skip to main content
Newly retired or still in school, looking for a new part-time experience where you live? Click here
The Shenkman Arts Centre is open to the public in accordance with current public health regulations. See Updates for full information.

Matinée Café: Kathryn Patricia Cobbler, Stories Told: Celebrating Canadian Folk

Presented by Shenkman Arts Centre and MASC

Enjoy an hour of live performance with coffee and treats after the show.

This musical performance centres around Folk and War Songs. Illuminating the stories and themes surrounding these melodies, listeners will experience traditional folk songs through a new harmonic lens. This chamber concert for viola and loop pedal highlights both folk, Canadiana inspired compositions and original music by loop pedal violist, composer and arranger Kathryn Patricia Cobbler.

Hailing from Canada’s capital region, Loop pedal violist, composer, and educator Kathryn Patricia Cobbler has crafted a singular niche in music improvisation, and classical performance. She obsesses over creating uniquely arresting soundscapes, whether in solo recitals, composing for theatre, performing in site specific art installations, and more. A recipient of one of Ottawa Arts Council’s Emerging Artist awards, she has been featured in Canada’s capital region’s most notable Concert Series, including Chamberfest, Music & Beyond to name a few.

As a seasoned performer and educator, Kathryn is proud to be a performance instructor at Carleton University, a MASC Artist, and a Teaching Artist with the National Arts Centre. As a composer, Kathryn has been featured in the Boston-based Concert series, Castle of Our Skin’s Black Composers Miniature Challenge, which resulted in the world premiere of her piece A Home Called ‘Wander’ for solo viola and spoken word. Most recently Kathryn was artist-in-residence with the Ottawa Dance Directive composing and collaborating for the premiere of Dream & True North envisioned and choreographed by Elizabeth Emond-Stevenson. She performs on a viola by luthier, Sibylle Ruppert and a Boss RC-30 loop pedal.

Dates:

Passer au contenu principal
Vous avez pris votre retraite récemment ou bien vous êtes aux études, aimeriez travailler à temps partiel et à la recherche d’une expérience nouvelle près de votre domicile?. Cliquez ici
Le Centre des arts Shenkman est ouvert au public, conformément aux règles de santé publique actuelles. Consultez la section des mises à jour pour en savoir plus.

Matinée Café: Kathryn Patricia Cobbler, Stories Told: Celebrating Canadian Folk

Présenté par Centre des Arts Shenkman et MASC

Profitez d’un spectacle d’une heure, ensuite venez prendre un café et dégustez des grignotines.

Ce spectacle musical est centré sur les chansons folkloriques et guerrières. Par ces histoires et thèmes qui entourent ces mélodies, les auditeurs découvriront les chansons folkloriques traditionnelles à travers une nouvelle lentille harmonique. Ce concert de chambre pour alto et pédale looper met en valeur des compositions folkloriques d’inspiration canadienne et la musique originale de Kathryn Patricia Cobbler, altiste de pédale looper, compositrice et organisatrice.

Originaire de la région de la capitale nationale, Kathryn Patricia Cobbler, altiste spécialiste de la pédale looper, compositrice et éducatrice s’est taillé une place unique dans l’improvisation musicale et l’interprétation classique. Elle est travaillée par la création de paysages sonores uniques et saisissants, que ce soit lors de récitals en solo, de compositions pour le théâtre ou d’interprétations dans des salles artistiques, entre autres. Récipiendaire de l’un des prix pour les artistes émergents décernés par le Conseil des arts d’Ottawa, elle a participé aux séries de concerts les plus importantes de la région de la capitale nationale, notamment Chamberfest et Festival Musique et autres mondes.

Interprète et éducatrice chevronnée, Kathryn est fière de donner des cours d’interprétation à l’Université Carleton, et d’être une artiste de la Coalition des artistes multiculturels (MASC) et artiste enseignante au Centre national des Arts. À titre de compositrice, Kathryn a participé à la série de concerts Castle of Our Skin’s Black Composers Miniature Challenge, à Boston, haut lieu de la première mondiale de sa pièce A Home Called « Wander » pour alto solo et poésie orale. Kathryn a récemment été artiste en résidence au Centre de danse contemporaine, où elle a composé et collaboré à la première de la pièce Dream & True North, imaginée et chorégraphiée par Elizabeth Emond-Stevenson. Elle se produit dans un alto de la luthière Sibylle Ruppert et une pédale de boucle Boss RC-30.