Skip to main content
The Shenkman Arts Centre is open to the public in accordance with current public health regulations. See Updates for full information.

Matinée Café: Jessica Pearson and The East Wind

Presented by Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Enjoy an hour of live performance with coffee and treats after the show. 

Jessica’s love for storytelling, drawing on folk, outlaw country, and Celtic traditions, is evident in her songwriting. The stories she tells are like lovingly sewn patchwork quilts, stitched together by soul-stirring melodies and gorgeous modern folk-country arrangements. They are the quilts you spread out under the stars, and the ones you wrap yourself in all winter long. These stories, with their frayed edges, become more beautiful the longer you sit with them. 

In 2021, Pearson received the Folk Music Ontario ‘Songs from the Heart’ award for her song Ready My Heart. She was also selected for Global Music Match, a program created to connect artists internationally on social media platforms during the COVID-19 pandemic. Jessica Pearson & the East Wind was also nominated for ‘Group of the Year’ at the 2021 Capital Music Awards. Pearson’s forthcoming album has been nominated for ‘Album of the Year’ at the 2022 Faces Ottawa Awards. 

“Impeccable musicianship, great singing and a wide variety of material all served up with with good humour… with Jessica's warm and genuine personality shining through and creating an instant rapport with the audience.” -- Mike Kirrage, Festival Director of Gate to Southwell Music Festival, UK 

Dates:

Passer au contenu principal
Le Centre des arts Shenkman est ouvert au public, conformément aux règles de santé publique actuelles. Consultez la section des mises à jour pour en savoir plus.

Matinée Café: Jessica Pearson and The East Wind

Présenté par Centre des arts Shenkman Présente

Profitez d’un spectacle d’une heure, ensuite venez prendre un café et dégustez des grignotines.

Assistez à une heure de spectacle en direct, avec la prodigieuse Jessica Pearson et The East Wind. Du café et des collations seront servis après le spectacle.

La passion de Jessica pour le récit, qui s’inspire des traditions folkloriques, de l’outlaw country et de la musique celtique, transparaît dans les paroles de ses chansons. Les récits qu’elle nous livre sont des courtepointes tricotées avec amour, soudées par des mélodies touchantes et par de magnifiques compositions modernes mariant la musique folk et le country. Ce sont des courtepointes que l’on peut étendre sous les étoiles et dont on peut s’envelopper tout l’hiver. Ces récits, avec leurs lisières effilochées, deviennent encore plus merveilleux à force de les écouter.

En 2021, Jessica Pearson a mérité le prix « Songs From the Heart » de Folk Music Ontario pour sa chanson Ready My Heart. Elle a aussi été sélectionnée dans le cadre du programme Global Music Match, créé pour connecter internationalement les artistes sur les plateformes des réseaux sociaux pendant la pandémie de COVID19. Jessica Pearson and The East Wind ont aussi été candidatés pour le prix du « Groupe de l’année » à l’occasion de la cérémonie de remise des Prix de la musique la capitale 2021. Son prochain album a été candidaté pour le prix de l’« Album de l’année » à la cérémonie de remise des prix Faces Ottawa 2022.

« Sens de la musique impeccable, excellente chanteuse et vaste matériel, le tout présenté avec le sens de l’humour… La personnalité chaleureuse et authentique de Jessica est éblouissante et crée tout de suite des liens avec le public. » -- Mike Kirrage, directeur du Festival de musique Gate to Southwell

Dates: