Skip to main content
The Shenkman Arts Centre is open with capacity limits, physical distancing measures, and proof of vaccination requirements in place. See Updates for full information.

Canadian Jazz All-Stars

Presented by Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

This is the first time this incredible collection of artists are joining together to make a powerful jazz ensemble! Guido Basso, Heather Bambrick, Mike Murley, Robi Botos, Dave Youngi, and Davide DiRenzo bring the sounds of saxophone, drums, bass, brass and vocals to the stage in a show that is nothing less than pure energy and excitement. Together, these world-class artists have performed on the finest world stages, with many well-known names in all musical genres, garnered international praise and accolades, and have collected more than two centuries of musical seasoning.

CANADIAN JAZZ ALL-STARS are not to be missed!

Guido Basso

There is no mistaking the rich, gorgeous tone of Guido Basso–it’s recognized the world over. As a charter member of Rob McConnell’s Boss Brass, Guido established a reputation as one of the world’s most solid and artistic soloists. He’s lent his signature sound to artists such as Buddy Rich, Oliver Jones, Carol Welsman, and Diana Krall, to name but a few. He remains a fan favourite charming audiences with his warmth of his personality, his tone, and charm. Guido is a multiple JUNO Award winner, and has been named as a member to the Order of Canada –our country’s highest and most prestigious civilian honour.

Heather Bambrick

Heather Bambrick is a JUNO-nominated vocalist, voice actor, and broadcaster who's performed with some of world's finest musicians, including Fred Hirsch, Guido Basso, Gene DiNovi, Lea Delaria, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, and many others. She’s a consummate entertainer, bringing her home-grown Newfoundland charm and wit to her live shows, which have been described as “Carol Burnett meets Ella Fitzgerald. Heather’s vocal talent is internationally recognized not only for her recordings but also for her work on several Emmy-winning animation series. She is also an award-winning broadcaster on Canada’s only all-Jazz radio station, JAZZ.FM.

Mike Murley

An engaging, lyrical saxophonist, Mike Murley is one of Canada’s most celebrated and well-respected Jazz artists. Currently active as a leader in various formations from duo to septet, Murley also maintains a busy schedule as both a sideman and an educator as Chair of the University of Toronto Jazz Program. He has played on 12 JUNOAward-winning recordings since 1990, most recently in 2013 for his trio recording Test of Time (Cornerstone Records) and in 2017 for Metalwood’s Twenty(Cellar Live).He’s also received honours from the Jazz Report and National Jazz Awards.

Robi Botos

Hungarian-born Romani musician Robi Botoswas was raised in a musical family and began his artistic career as a child in Budapest. He immigrated to Canada in 1998 and is now a permanent and highly-regarded fixture in the country’s diverse musical scene. Shortly after arriving in Canada, Robi caught the ear of Jazz great Oscar Peterson and quickly became his protégé. Robi’s dynamic live performances have earned him international recognition –winning numerous competitions around the world including in Montreux, Paris, and the United States. He is a JUNO-Award winner, and has also been honoured by the National Jazz Awards, the Toronto Musicians’ Association, and the Montréal Jazz Festival.

Dave Young

Bassist Dave Young is, without a doubt, one of Canada’s most valuable exports. He’s a first-call bassist, arranger and bandleader, having been an integral part of some of this country’s most noteworthy ensembles including the Oscar Peterson Trio, the Lenny Breau Quartet, his own ensembles, as well as the Dave Young Terry Promane Octet. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including a JUNO Award, multiple Jazz Report and National Jazz Awards, and was also named an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Davide Direnzo

Davide DiRenzo is one of the most versatile and in-demand drummers in Canada, with an equally strong profile in the Jazz, Rock, Pop and R&B scenes coast-to-coast and beyond. He has performed and recorded extensively around the world with a wide range of artists from Tom Cochrane and jack soul, to Cassandra Wilson and Matt Dusk. Beyond live performances, Davide has an impressive television profile, having been the house drummer for CTV’s Canadian Idol and Canada’s Got Talent, as well as appearances on six seasons of Live at the Rehearsal Hall on Bravo TV. He’s received six JUNO Awards and is steadily touring internationally.

Dates:

Passer au contenu principal
Vous avez pris votre retraite récemment ou bien vous êtes aux études, aimeriez travailler à temps partiel et à la recherche d’une expérience nouvelle près de votre domicile?. Cliquez ici
Le Centre des arts Shenkman est ouvert au public, conformément aux règles de santé publique actuelles. Consultez la section des mises à jour pour en savoir plus.

Canadian Jazz All-Stars

Présenté par Centre des arts Shenkman Présente

C’est la première fois que cette incroyable collection d’artistes se réunit pour former un ensemble de jazz puissant! Guido Basso, Heather Bambrick, Mike Murley, Robi Botos, Dave Youngi et Davide DiRenzo apportent sur scène les sons du saxophone, de la batterie, de la basse, des cuivres et du chant dans un spectacle qui n’est rien d’autre que de l’énergie pure et de l’excitation. Ensemble, ces artistes de classe mondiale se sont produits sur les plus belles scènes du monde, avec de nombreux noms connus dans tous les genres musicaux, ont reçu des éloges et des accolades internationales et ont accumulé plus de deux siècles d’expérience musicale.

Les CANADIAN JAZZ ALL-STARS sont à ne pas manquer!

Guido Basso

Il est impossible de se méprendre sur le son riche et magnifique de Guido Basso - il est reconnu dans le monde entier. En tant que membre fondateur du Boss Brass de Rob McConnell, Guido a acquis la réputation d’être l’un des solistes les plus solides et les plus artistiques du monde. Il a prêté sa signature sonore à des artistes tels que Buddy Rich, Oliver Jones, Carol Welsman et Diana Krall, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns. Il reste le favori des fans, charmant le public par la chaleur de sa personnalité, sa sonorité et son charme. Guido a remporté plusieurs prix JUNO et a été nommé membre de l’Ordre du Canada - la plus haute et la plus prestigieuse distinction civile de notre pays.

Heather Bambrick

Heather Bambrick est une chanteuse, comédienne et communicatrice mise en nomination pour un prix JUNO qui s’est produite avec certains des meilleurs musiciens du monde, dont Fred Hirsch, Guido Basso, Gene DiNovi, Lea Delaria, l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto et bien d’autres. C’est une animatrice accomplie, qui apporte le charme et l’esprit de sa terre natale, terre-neuvienne, à ses spectacles en direct, qui ont été décrits comme « Carol Burnett rencontre Ella Fitzgerald ». Le talent vocal de Heather est reconnu internationalement, non seulement pour ses enregistrements, mais aussi pour son travail dans plusieurs séries d’animation qui ont remporté un Emmy. Elle est également une présentatrice primée sur la seule station de radio entièrement consacrée au jazz au Canada, JAZZ.FM.

Mike Murley

Saxophoniste lyrique et attachant, Mike Murley est l’un des artistes de jazz les plus célèbres et les plus respectés au Canada. Actuellement actif en tant que leader dans diverses formations allant du duo au septet, Murley a également un emploi du temps chargé en tant que sideman et éducateur en tant que président du programme de jazz de l’Université de Toronto. Il a joué sur 12 enregistrements primés par le JUNOA depuis 1990, plus récemment en 2013 pour son enregistrement en trio Test of Time (Cornerstone Records) et en 2017 pour Metalwood’s Twenty (Cellar Live). Il a également reçu les honneurs du Jazz Report et des National Jazz Awards.

Robi Botos

Musicien rom d’origine hongroise, Robi Botos a été élevé dans une famille de musiciens et a commencé sa carrière artistique dès son enfance à Budapest. Il a immigré au Canada en 1998 et est maintenant un membre permanent et très apprécié de la scène musicale diversifiée du pays. Peu après son arrivée au Canada, Robi a attiré l’attention du grand jazzman Oscar Peterson et est rapidement devenu son protégé. Les performances dynamiques de Robi sur scène lui ont valu une reconnaissance internationale - il a remporté de nombreux concours dans le monde entier, notamment à Montreux, à Paris et aux États-Unis. Il a remporté un prix JUNO et a également été honoré par les National Jazz Awards, la Toronto Musicians' Association et le Festival de jazz de Montréal.

Dave Young

Le bassiste Dave Young est, sans aucun doute, l’une des exportations les plus précieuses du Canada. Bassiste, arrangeur et chef d’orchestre de premier ordre, il a fait partie intégrante de certains des ensembles les plus remarquables du pays, dont le Oscar Peterson Trio, le Lenny Breau Quartet, ses propres ensembles, ainsi que le Dave Young Terry Promane Octet. Il a reçu de nombreux prix, dont un prix JUNO, de multiples Jazz Report et National Jazz Awards, et a également été nommé Officier de l’Ordre du Canada.

Davide DiRenzo

Davide DiRenzo est l’un des batteurs les plus polyvalents et les plus demandés au Canada, avec un profil tout aussi solide sur les scènes jazz, rock, pop et R&B d’un océan à l’autre et au-delà. Il a joué et enregistré à travers le monde avec un large éventail d’artistes, de Tom Cochrane et Jack Soul à Cassandra Wilson et Matt Dusk. Au-delà des performances live, Davide a un profil télévisuel impressionnant, ayant été le batteur attitré des émissions Canadian Idol et Canada’s Got Talent sur CTV, ainsi que des apparitions dans six saisons de Live at the Rehearsal Hall sur Bravo TV. Il a reçu six prix JUNO et effectue régulièrement des tournées internationales.