Skip to main content
Update:Welcome back! Shenkman Arts Centre is now open with safety protocols in place. Fall courses, workshops and theatre events are running with limited capacities. The box office remains closed. All reservations for tickets and instructional programs can be made online.FAQ for Theatre Performances and Instructional Programming

Beauty and The Beast, Opera for Children

Presented by Chamber Opera Company Ottawa

In an enchanting production adapted for children, this opera recounts the beloved fairy tale, Beauty and the Beast, set to music by the French composer André Grétry (music score adapted by Dan Plummer; original English libretto by Diane Garton Edie).

In the exotic setting of an island in the Indian Ocean, bright, cheery music abounds, transporting the audience to a fantastical land that brims with fun and excitement.

Featuring Ania Hejnar, soprano, Sonya Sweeney, mezzo-soprano, Jeffery Boyd, tenor, Ryan Hofman, baritone, Judith Ginsburg, piano and a children’s chorus, all under the direction of veteran stage director Kathi Langston.

This fully staged opera production with piano accompaniment is sure to delight, highlighting its endearing message that “beauty is found within”.

Dates:

Passer au contenu principal
Mises à jour: Bon retour parmi nous! Le Centre des arts de Shenkman est maintenant ouvert avec des protocoles de sécurité en place. Les cours d’automne, les ateliers et les événements théâtraux se déroulent avec des capacités limitées. La billeterie reste fermée. Toutes les réservations de billets et de programmes pédagogiques peuvent être effectuées en ligne. FAQ Web pour spectacles et les programmes éducatifs

Beauty and The Beast, Opera for Children

Présenté par Chamber Opera Company Ottawa

Dans une ravissante production transposée pour les enfants, cet opéra nous fait le récit du conte de fées populaire La Belle et la Bête, mis en musique par le compositeur français André Grétry (partition adaptée par Dan Plummer; livret original en anglais de Diane Garton Edie).

Dans le cadre exotique d’une île de l’océan Indien, ce spectacle où foisonne une musique gaie et entraînante fait découvrir à l’auditoire une contrée fantastique des plus divertissantes.

La soprano Ania Hejnar, la mezzo-soprano Sonya Sweeney, le ténor Jeffery Boyd et le baryton Ryan Hofman sont accompagnés au piano par Judith Ginsburg et par un chœur d’enfants, tous placés sous la direction de la metteure en scène chevronnée Kathi Langston.

Cet opéra intégral avec accompagnement de piano vous ravira à coup sûr, tout en exposant son message touchant que « la beauté est intérieure ».

Dates: