Café Classico – A Romantic European Getaway

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Sunday, September 23, 2018 at 1 pm

Savour a chamber music showcase of regional musicians in a cabaret-style setting in the beautiful lower lobby, which also includes freshly baked croissants and coffee.

This concert features Pianist Ryan Phelps and soprano Susan Elizabeth Brown playing your romantic European favorites Liszt, Strauss, Debussy, and Rachmaninov.

About Ryan Phelps (Website)

A Pianist of great versatility, Calgary-born Ryan Phelps is known for his interpretations of Chopin, Liszt, Beethoven and Rachmaninoff and is equally in demand as a soloist and as a chamber musician. He completed his Honors Bachelor of Music in Piano Performance from the University of Western Ontario studying under Tina Yanchus and James Hibbard. He also holds an Associate in Piano Performance from Trinity College in London, U.K.

His work has been broadcast on CBC Radio, and he has completed tours of Ontario and Manitoba, performing nearly 60 concerts with the talented Soprano, Ms. Rachel Snow. He also spent 2006 touring with Cellist Lydia Munchinsky, and 2008 with violinist Kathlyn Stevens.

About Susan Elizabeth Brown

Kingston, Ontario native Susan Elizabeth Brown has performed internationally at the Royal Glasgow Concert Hall and the Waterfront Hall in Belfast, Northern Ireland. A graduate of St. Lawrence College's Musical Theatre Program, she is now based in Ottawa.

Her voice has been described as “a remarkably pretty instrument, pure, ‘spinny’ with beautiful extension and a timbre that cuts through an ensemble without shrillness" (Natasha Gaulthier, Ottawa Citizen).

Ms. Brown is an artist with Jeunesses Musicales Canada, and portrayed the role of Donna Anna in their 2017/2018 touring production of Don Giovanni. Her performance of the role in the Festival D'Opera de Quebec in July 2017 was said to have “..a formidable impact” (Christophe Huss, Le Devoir). She was the 2017 soprano participant in the National Arts Center Young Artists Program, studying under internationally renowned Canadian baritone, Russell Braun. Other Operatic roles have included Mimi in La Boheme and Gilda in Rigoletto, both with Pellegrini Opera, which were noted for their exquisiteness of tone and heartrending sensitivity of interpretation.

Tickets (all-in price):
Regular: $15

Tickets are only available by calling 613-580-2700 or by visiting our box office in person.

Venue: Lower Lobby
Genre: Music


September 23 at 1:00 pm

Café Classico – A Romantic European Getaway

Présenté par : Centre des arts Shenkman présente

Le dimanche 23 septembre 2018 à 13 h

Profitez d’un concert de musique de chambre donné par des musiciens d’ici dans l’ambiance cabaret du superbe foyer inférieur où vous seront servis café et croissants tout chauds.

Ce concert met en vedette le pianiste Ryan Phelps et la soprano Susan Elizabeth Brown qui interpréteront vos compositeurs romantiques européens favoris, tels que Liszt, Strauss, Debussy et Rachmaninov.

À propos de Ryan Phelps (Site web)

Pianiste d’une grande polyvalence originaire de Calgary, Ryan Phelps est reconnu pour ses interprétations de Chopin, de Liszt, de Beethoven et de Rachmaninoff et il se produit tant comme soliste et comme chambriste. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en musique spécialisé en interprétation au piano de l’Université Western où il a été l’élève de Tina Yanchus et de James Hibbard. Il détient également un diplôme associé en interprétation au piano du Trinity College de Londres.

Ses interprétations ont été diffusées sur les ondes de CBC Radio et il a fait des tournées en Ontario et au Manitoba au cours desquelles il a donné plus de 60 concerts avec la talentueuse soprano Rachel Snow. Il a aussi passé 2006 en tournée avec la violoncelliste Lydia Munchinsky, et 2008 avec la violoniste Kathlyn Stevens.

À propos de Susan Elizabeth Brown

Native de Kingston, en Ontario, Susan Elizabeth Brown s’est produite sur la scène internationale au Royal Glasgow Concert Hall et au Waterfront Hall de Belfast, en Irlande du Nord. Diplômée du programme de théâtre musical du Collège St-Lawrence, elle vit maintenant à Ottawa.

Sa voix a été décrite comme un « instrument remarquablement joli, pur, tournoyant avec un beau registre et un timbre qui fraie son chemin à travers l’orchestre sans stridence ». (Natasha Gaulthier, Ottawa Citizen).

Madame Brown est l’une des artistes de Jeunesses Musicales Canada et elle a interprété le rôle de Donna Anna dans leur production de tournée de 2017 2018, Don Giovanni. On a dit de sa prestation au Festival d’opéra de Québec, en juillet 2017, qu’elle était « d’un redoutable impact » (Christophe Huss, Le Devoir). Elle est la soprano qui a participé à l’édition de 2017 du Programme des jeunes artistes du Centre national des arts, dans le cadre duquel elle a étudié sous la direction du baryton canadien de renommée internationale Russell Braun. Elle a aussi joué le rôle de Mimi dans La Bohème et de Gilda dans Rigoletto avec le Pellegrini Opera, qui lui ont tous les deux valu des éloges quant à l’exquise qualité du timbre de sa voix et à la sensibilité bouleversante de son interprétation.

Âges: Tous les âges
Langue: Anglais

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Régulier : 15 $

Les billets sont en vente uniquement à la billetterie ou par téléphone au 613-580-2700.

Lieu : Foyer inférieur
Genre : Musique


Le 23 septembre à 13 h 00