An evening with Ottmar Liebert & Luna Negra

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Friday, May 13, 2016 at 8 pm

Ottmar Liebert has become one of the most successful instrumental artists of our day, thrilling audiences throughout the world and releasing a catalog of classic recordings. Ottmar has been nominated for five Grammy’s and has multiple Gold and Platinum records, having sold millions of records across the globe. This skilled practitioner of contemporary flamenco guitar is always a surprise. He plays with lots of textures – contrasting traditional and electric instruments.

With a recent shift out of the “new age” category and into the “instrumental pop” genre, long-time fans will still hear the Ottmar Liebert they know best. This “new brew” combines elements from flamenco, funk, R&B, folk and pop – the influences that formed him as a guitar player.

“Recently he's been drifting more into the blues, blending it with flamenco, which isn't as improbable as you might think….Blues lives in the wolf fifth or the blue note, which can fit into flamenco quite logically. It's the style that's harder to graft, not the notes, yet [he] does this fluidly and easily, mostly by playing blues funk rhythms in samba time. This album is called 3:05. Electric guitar, wah wah pedals, echoplex - they're all used here, to enhance the sonic picture. Fans of OL & Luna Negra will find plenty of strolling in the Phrygian mode, so fear not.”
– L. Russell, Culture Court


Special Meet and Greet

Prior to the show, Shenkman Arts Centre will host a Meet and Greet with Ottmar Liebert. This is a rare opportunity to shake hands with this renowned artist!

Chef Mark Steele, owner of OCCO Kitchen, will prepare a special cocktail and canapé for the occasion.

Tickets are required for this 6:30 pm pre-show event at an additional fee of $10. Call 613-580-2700 or visit the box office in person to buy Meet and Greet tickets. (Sorry, Meet and Greet tickets are not available online.)

SAC - Events Desktop Icon


Ages: All ages
Language: English

Tickets (all-in price):
Regular: $48.75
uGO: $20
eyeGO: $5

Venue: Harold Shenkman Hall
Genre: Music


May 13 at 8:00 pm

An evening with Ottmar Liebert & Luna Negra

Présenté par : Centre des Arts Shenkman Présente

Le vendredi 13 mai 2016 à 20 h

Ottmar Liebert est devenu l’un des musiciens les plus en vue de notre époque, électrisant les publics partout dans le monde. Comptant à son actif de nombreux enregistrements classiques, il a été en nomination pour cinq prix Grammy et a récolté plusieurs disques d’or et de platine pour la vente de millions de disques dans le monde entier. Ce virtuose de la guitare flamenco contemporaine nous réserve toujours des surprises. Son jeu riche en textures fait contraster les instruments traditionnels et électriques.

Même s’il vient de délaisser la musique « nouvel âge » pour se tourner vers le genre « pop instrumentale », ses admirateurs de longue date retrouveront l’Ottmar Liebert qu’ils connaissent si bien. Cette « nouvelle mouture » combine des éléments de flamenco, de funk, de R&B, de folk et de pop – les influences qui l’ont formé en tant que guitariste.

« Il s’est récemment laissé entraîner dans le blues, le mélangeant au flamenco, ce qui n’est pas aussi invraisemblable que l’on pourrait le penser… Le blues vit dans la quinte du loup ou la note bleue, qui peut logiquement s’intégrer au flamenco. C’est le style – et non les notes ̶ qu’il est plus difficile d’y greffer, mais Liebert y parvient avec fluidité et facilité, principalement en jouant des rythmes sur un tempo de samba. Le titre de cet album est 3:05. Guitare électrique, pédales wah wah et échoplex ̶ ils sont tous utilisés ici pour rehausser l’image sonore. Les admirateurs d’OL et Luna Negra retrouveront beaucoup d’incursions dans le mode phrygien, alors n’ayez crainte. » – L. Russell, Culture Court


Réception spéciale

Avant le spectacle, le Centre des arts Shenkman organisera une réception en compagnie de Ottmar Liebert. Il s’agit d’une rare occasion de faire la connaissance de cette artiste célèbre.

Mark Steele, chef cuisinier et propriétaire de OCCO Kitchen, crééra des cocktails et des hors-d’œuvre pour l’occasion!

Les billets pour cet événement prévu à 18 h 30 sont vendus 10 $, en sus du prix du spectacle. On peut obtenir des billets pour cette réception en composant le 613-580-2700 ou en se rendant en personne à la billetterie. (Désolés, ils ne sont pas vendus en ligne.)

SAC - Events Desktop Icon


Âge :
Tous les âges
Langue : Anglais

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Régulier : 48.75 $
uGO : 20 $
eyeGO : 5 $

Lieu : Salle Harold-Shenkman
Genre : Musique


Le 13 mai à 20 h 00