Café Classico - Lansdowne String Quartet

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Sunday, March 3, 2019 at 1 pm

Savour in a chamber music showcase of regional musicians in a cabaret-style setting in the beautiful lower lobby which also includes freshly baked croissants and coffee.

This concert features the sounds of Joplin, Piazzolla, Shubert and Ravel performed by the Lansdowne String Quartet.

About Lansdowne String Quartet

The Lansdowne String Quartet has performed in various locations throughout the Ottawa area. Individually, the four members of the group have a wide background of performance and have played with the Calgary Philharmonic, the Edmonton Symphony, the Winnipeg Symphony, the Vancouver Symphony, and the Red Deer Symphony, among others. Currently, the musicians of the Lansdowne String Quartet are all members of the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra.

Alana Gralen, violin

An active performer and teacher, Alana holds a Bachelor of Music degree in violin performance from Northwestern University. She spent the majority of her musical career as first violinist in the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra and has also performed with the Grant Park Symphony of Chicago, the Regina Symphony, the Red Deer Symphony, the Edmonton Symphony, and the Ottawa Symphony Orchestras.

Brigit Knecht, violin

Brigit Knecht is an artist of diverse talents. Hailing from Calgary, Alberta, Brigit performed regularly as assistant concertmaster with the Red Deer Symphony, as extra with the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, and as a member of the VAD and Players Ensembles. She performs regularly with the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra and has also enjoyed performing as a guest with the Ottawa Jazz Orchestra, Ottawa New Music Creators, Chamberfest, Music and Beyond, and the Ottawa Music Company.

Lisa Moody, viola

A former member of the Vancouver and Winnipeg Symphony Orchestras, Lisa Moody has a keen interest in Canadian music that is evident in the projects she undertakes, including a solo CD of previously unrecorded Canadian compositions for viola and piano, Magdalene Wood, and a new collaboration with The Algonquin Ensemble, a sextet formed to musically interpret the works of Canadian artist, Tom Thomson.

David Wright, cello

A resident of Orléans, David studied cello in Edmonton with Timothy Khaner and Colin Ryan. He has been a member of the cello section of the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra for 22 years, 21 seasons as Assistant Principal, and is also a freelance musician in the Ottawa area.

About Ottawa Suzuki Strings

A music school providing violin, viola, cello, guitar and voice instruction using the Suzuki method, their experienced faculty have music degrees and are trained in Suzuki pedagogy. Students range from very young “Twinklers” to advanced students in Stellae Boreales. The combination of private lessons, group classes, and performance opportunities gives students a broad and exciting music experience. Many students have distinguished themselves competing in local and provincial competitions, and have also had the opportunity to perform in other Canadian cities and overseas.

Tickets (all-in price):
$15

Tickets are only available by calling 613-580-2700 or by visiting our box office in person.

Venue: Lower Lobby
Genre: Music


March 03 at 1:00 pm

Café Classico - Lansdowne String Quartet

Présenté par : Centre des arts Shenkman

Le dimanche 3 mars 2019 à 13 h

Savourez un concert de musique de chambre donné par des musiciens d’ici dans l’ambiance cabaret du superbe foyer inférieur où vous seront servis café et croissants tout chauds.

Ce concert met en vedette le Lansdowne String Quartet qui interprétera Joplin, Piazzolla, Schubert et Ravel.

À propos du Lansdowne String Quartet

Le Lansdowne String Quartet s’est produit à divers lieux dans la région d’Ottawa. Les quatre membres du groupe ont chacun un vaste parcours d’interprètes et ont notamment fait partie de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary, de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Edmonton, de l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg, de l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver et de l’Orchestre symphonique de Red Deer. À l’heure actuelle, les musiciens du Lansdowne String Quartet sont tous membres de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa.

Alana Gralen, violon

Menant activement une carrière d’interprète et d’enseignante, Alana détient un baccalauréat en musique en violon de l’Université Northwestern. Elle a passé la majeure partie de sa carrière musicale comme premier violon de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary et elle a également fait partie du Grant Park Symphony Orchestra de Chicago, des orchestres symphoniques de Regina, de Red Deer, d’Edmonton et d’Ottawa.

Brigit Knecht, violon

Brigit Knecht est une artiste aux divers talents. Originaire de Calgary, en Alberta, Brigit s’est produite régulièrement comme assistante violon solo avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Red Deer, comme musicienne suppléante avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary et comme membre des ensembles VAD et Players. Elle joue régulièrement au sein de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa et elle a également été ravie de se produire à titre de musicienne invitée au sein de l’Orchestre de jazz d’Ottawa, avec Créateurs de musique nouvelle de l’Outaouais, au Chamberfest, avec Musique et Autres Mondes et avec l’Ottawa Music Company.

Lisa Moody, alto

Anciennement membre des orchestres symphoniques de Vancouver et de Winnipeg, Lisa Moody nourrit un vif intérêt pour la musique canadienne qui se révèle dans les projets qu’elle entreprend, notamment Magdalene Wood, un album solo de compositions canadiennes pour alto et piano qui n’avait jamais été enregistrées auparavant, et une nouvelle collaboration avec l’Algonquin Ensemble, un sextuor formé dans le but d’interpréter les œuvres musicales de l’artiste canadien Tom Thomson.

David Wright, violoncelle

Résident d’Orléans, David a étudié le violoncelle à Edmonton avec Timothy Khaner et Colin Ryan. Il est membre du pupitre des violoncelles de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa depuis 22 ans, dont 21 saisons en tant que deuxième soliste, et il est également musicien pigiste dans la région d’Ottawa.

À propos de l’école de musique Ottawa Suzuki Strings

Les enseignants chevronnés de l’Ottawa Suzuki Strings, une école de musique enseignant le violon, l’alto, le violoncelle, la guitare et le chant au moyen de la méthode Suzuki, possèdent des diplômes en musique et sont formés en pédagogie Suzuki. Les élèves varient de très jeunes débutants aux élèves de niveau avancé de l’ensemble Stellae Boreales. La combinaison de leçons privées, de cours de groupe, et de possibilités de prestations donne aux élèves une expérience vaste et stimulante de la musique. Bon nombre d’élèves se sont illustrés dans le cadre de concours régionaux et provinciaux et ont également eu la possibilité de jouer dans d’autres villes canadiennes et à l’étranger.

Billets (prix tout compris) :
15 $

Les billets sont vendus à la billetterie et par téléphone, en composant le 613 580 2700.

Lieu : Foyer inférieur
Genre : Musique


Le 3 mars à 13 h 00