An Evening with Digging Roots and Dione Taylor & The Backsliderz

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Thursday, March 1, 2018 at 8 pm

Prepare for a night of genre-blending R&B, folk and jazz uniting two of Canada’s most versatile and captivating performers. Filled with soul-stirring storytelling, new rhythms and exhilarating emotion, Digging Roots and Dione Taylor’s performances re-make musical traditions, creating a powerfully Canadian experience that is contemporary, passionate and audacious.


About Digging Roots


Juno-winning First Nations power couple Shoshona Kish and Raven Kanatakta have built their sound on a unique musical marriage of unvarnished truth and unconditional love. Their five-piece band turns out tunes that don’t fit in boxes: indie-folk, global-soul, roots-rock, hip-hop and blues-infused, Digging Roots is overall politically-engaged and poetically-enamoured.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


About Dione Taylor

Jazz, blues and gospel collide in this artist’s deep love for music, influenced by her past as a pastor's daughter from Saskatchewan — Taylor was raised in a family completely connected to song. The soulful singer’s Juno-nominated debut album catapulted her career across the continents, seeing her perform for audiences that have included the President of the United States and Queen Elizabeth II.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Ages:
All ages
Language: English

Tickets (all-in price):
Regular: $40
uGO: $20
eyeGO: $5

Front + Centre members get the first chance to purchase, between May 30 and June 7, 2017.
Become a Front + Centre Member to be first in line for a brilliant range of shows, plus so much more!


Venue: Harold Shenkman Hall
Genre: Music


Ticket Purchase

March 01 at 8:00 pm

An Evening with Digging Roots and Dione Taylor & The Backsliderz

Présenté par : Centre des arts Shenkman présente

Le jeudi 1 mars 2018 à 20 h

Fusionnant R&B, folk et jazz, ce spectacle réunit des artistes parmi les plus polyvalents et électrisants du Canada. Au programme : histoires émouvantes, rythmes surprenants et émotions grisantes. Les prestations de Digging Roots et de Dione Taylor réinventent les traditions musicales pour proposer une expérience intensément canadienne, à la fois contemporaine, passionnante et audacieuse.


Au sujet de Digging Roots


Gagnants d’un prix JUNO, ShoShona Kish et Raven Kanatakta, membres des Premières Nations, forment un couple du tonnerre qui a su créer un son métissé bien à lui, en mettant de l’avant la vérité pure et simple et l’amour inconditionnel. Leur groupe de cinq musiciens enchaînent des airs inclassables inspirés de divers genres : indie-folk, musique du monde, soul, roots-rock, hip-hop, blues... En un mot, Digging Roots est engagé sur la scène politique et amoureux de la scène poétique.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Au sujet de Dione Taylor


Jazz, blues et gospel se rencontrent dans l’œuvre de cette artiste bouleversante qui voue un amour profond à la musique depuis son enfance en Saskatchewan. Fille de pasteur, Dione Taylor a grandi dans une famille où le chant occupait une place centrale. Son premier album, qui a été en nomination aux prix JUNO, a propulsé sa carrière sur la scène internationale, l’amenant ainsi à chanter entre autres devant le président des États-Unis et la reine Elizabeth II.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Âge :
Tous les âges
Langue : Anglais

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Régulier : 40 $
uGO : 20 $
eyeGO : 5 $

Les abonnés d’Avant-scène peuvent se procurer des billets en prévente du 30 mai au 7 juin 2017.
Abonnez-vous à Avant-scène pour être parmi les premiers en ligne pour une brillante sélection de spectacles!


Lieu : Salle Harold-Shenkman
Genre : Musique


Billets

Le 1 mars à 20 h 00