Steve Hill with Special Guest Paul Reddick

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Friday, March 11, 2016 at 8 pm

Celebrating Steve Hill’s CD Release for his new album "Solo Recordings - Volume 3". Paul Reddick kicks off the show and Steve drives it home. A spectacular night of blues that you don’t want to miss!

Steve Hill

Easily and widely considered one of Canada’s most prolific and exciting guitarists, Steve Hill is the 2015 Juno Award Winner for Blues Album of the Year, 2015 Maple Blues Award Winner for Electric Act of the Year, Guitarist of the Year, Recording/Producer of the Year and Entertainer of the Year.

With tracks that are heavy and hard hitting, deep and melodic, Hill manages to nail a wide range of emotions with his songwriting and masterful guitar playing. When it comes to one-man bands, Hill has no limits. Throughout his lengthy and intense live shows, Hill performs standing up while singing and playing guitar, with his feet playing bass drum, snare drum, hi-hats and with a drum stick fused to the head of his trusty guitar, along with any other percussion within reach. With roots in blues, rock and a little bit of country, Hill performs his original songs, blues classics, and, quite often, raucous renditions of Jimi Hendrix tunes.

Throughout his career, Hill has shared the stage with many of his musical heroes including Ray Charles, BB King, ZZ Top, Jimmie Vaughan, Hubert Sumlin, Jeff Beck and many others. Over the course of eight albums he's explored everything from hard rock, country, and stoner rock to folk music while always incorporating the essence of his first love, the blues.

Hill’s reputation as an exciting performer has provided him the opportunity to showcase his talents at some of Canada’s biggest music festivals including the Montreal International Jazz Festival, Ottawa Bluesfest, Mont Tremblant International Blues Festival, Thunder Bay Blues Festival, Kitchener Blues Festival and more. Steve Hill is clearly at home on the stage, inviting audiences to catch a glimpse of musical madness in the form of blues and rock ‘n’ roll.

Artist Website linkSAC - Events Facebook IconSAC - Events Twitter Icon

Paul Reddick

Seven-time Maple Blues Award winner, Juno and American Blues Music Award nominee, Paul Reddick’s distinctive voice covers a wide emotional palette; always engaging; sometimes a shout, more often a conversationally vivid whisper. But it is Reddick’s songs — sometimes sweet, sometimes bitter, always thought-provoking and rarely sentimental — and the passionate way he delivers them that best illustrate what the influential British magazine Mojo described as his “wayward brilliance.”

His latest recording Wishbone, owes its existence to the musicians he has heard for 20 years, and all the musicians he has played with over two decades and half a dozen albums. It is the most consistent, powerful statement he’s made.

Reddick has long been a part of Canada’s rich roots music scene; he is one of the best harmonica players in the country, and he’s contributed to the recordings of other key artists, among them Kathleen Edwards, Colin Linden, Treasa Levasseur, Scarlett Jane, Suzie Vinnick and more.

Artist Website linkSAC - Events Facebook IconSAC - Events Twitter Icon

Ages: All ages
Language: English

Tickets (all-in price):
Regular: $40
uGO: $20
eyeGO: $5

Venue: Harold Shenkman Hall
Genre: Music

Ticket Purchase

March 11 at 8:00 pm

Steve Hill avec Paul Reddick (invité spécial)

Présenté par : Centre des Arts Shenkman Présente

Le vendredi 11 mars 2016 à 20 h

Pour célébrer le lancement du nouvel album de Steve Hill, Solo Recording – Volume 3, Paul Reddick ouvre le bal et Steve prend le relais. Vous ne voudrez pas manquer cette soirée de blues mémorable!


Steve Hill

Considéré comme l’un des guitaristes canadiens les plus prolifiques et les plus extraordinaires, Steve Hill a remporté le prix Juno 2015 pour l’album blues de l’année et le prix Maple Blues 2015 pour la guitare électrique, le guitariste de l’année, l’enregistrement/réalisateur de l’année et l’artiste de l’année.

Avec ses pièces percutantes, profondes et mélodieuses, ce compositeur et guitariste chevronné parvient à nous faire passer par toute une gamme d’émotions. Véritable homme-orchestre, Steve Hill ne connaît aucune limite : dans ses spectacles, longs et intenses, il joue de la guitare et chante tout en utilisant ses pieds pour manier la grosse caisse, la caisse claire et la cymbale double et en ayant à portée de main d’autres percussions et une baguette soudée à sa fidèle guitare. Fidèle à ses racines blues, rock et quelquefois country, Steve Hill joue ses propres compositions et des classiques du blues et livre régulièrement des interprétations énergiques de pièces de Jimi Hendrix.

Steve Hill a au cours de sa carrière partagé la scène avec plusieurs de ses idoles, notamment Ray Charles, BB King, ZZ Top, Jimmie Vaughan, Hubert Sumlin et Jeff Beck. Au fil de ses huit albums, il a touché à tout, du hard rock au country en passant par le stoner rock et le folk, sans jamais oublier ses premières amours : le blues.

Sa réputation d’artiste exceptionnel l’a conduit à participer aux plus grands festivals de musique du Canada, dont le Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, le Bluesfest d’Ottawa, le Festival international du blues de Tremblant, le Thunder Bay Blues Festival et le Kitchener Blues Festival. Sur scène comme un poisson dans l’eau, Steve Hill invite le public à se laisser emporter par une vague de musique enivrante où blues et rock and roll sont à l’honneur.

Artist Website linkSAC - Events Facebook IconSAC - Events Twitter Icon 


Paul Reddick

Sept fois gagnant d’un prix Maple Blues et finaliste aux prix Juno et aux Blues Music Awards, Paul Reddick a une voix toute particulière couvrant une vaste gamme d’émotions et qui, forte à ses heures, affectionne tout particulièrement le chuchotement. Mais ce sont ses chansons mêlant la douceur à l’amertume – rarement sentimentales et incitant à la réflexion – ainsi que ses interprétations pleines de passion qui illustrent le mieux ce musicien que l’influent magazine britannique Mojo a qualifié de « génie rebelle ».

Son dernier album, Wishbone, doit son existence aux musiciens avec qui il a joué lors deux dernières décennies et dans une demi-douzaine d’albums, ainsi qu’à ceux qu’il a écoutés pendant cette période. Il s’agit de l’œuvre la plus aboutie et la plus réussie qu’il a créée.

Paul Reddick fait depuis longtemps partie du riche paysage musical canadien; figurant parmi les meilleurs joueurs d’harmonica au pays, il a participé aux enregistrements d’autres grands artistes, dont Kathleen Edwards, Colin Linden, Treasa Levasseur, Scarlett Jane et Susie Vinnick.

Artist Website linkSAC - Events Facebook IconSAC - Events Twitter Icon


Âge : Tous les âges
Langue : Anglais

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Régulier : 40 $
uGO : 20 $
eyeGO : 5 $

Lieu : Salle Harold-Shenkman
Genre : Musique


Billets

Le 11 mars à 20 h 00