Sultans of String - Christmas Caravan, with special guests Rebecca Campbell, Kellylee Evans, Lynn Miles, Kristine St-Pierre and Twin Flames

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Thursday, December 19, 2019 at 8 pm

Celebrate the season with an adventurous musical trip around the world! Three times Juno Award nominees, Sultans of String, deliver an exuberant performance featuring band originals, world-music inspired classics, and seasonal favourites to warm your heart on a cold winter’s night. From fiery fiddle tunes to a Caribbean sleigh ride, this surprising and delightful holiday fiesta heats up when these three time Canadian Folk Music Award winners bring their signature sound to well known gems such as "Jesu", "Joy of Man’s Desiring", "The Huron Carol" (with newly-translated Indigenous lyrics), a djembe-driven "Little Drummer Boy", a Turkish twist on "Greensleeves", as well as a Gypsy-jazz inspired "Django Christmas", and a Rumba Flamenca-fuelled "Jingle Bells".

Sultans of String are joined on stage by Ottawa daughters, Rebecca Campbell, Kellylee Evans, Lynn Miles and Kristine St-Pierre. The band’s companion Christmas Caravan CD which hit Billboard’s World Music charts (#6) and The New York Times Hits list, features such luminaries as The Chieftains’ very own Paddy Moloney, platinum vocalist Nikki Yanofsky, Juno winners Alex Cuba, Benoit Bourque of Bottine Souriante, Grammy winners Sweet Honey in The Rock, Richard Bona (Paul Simon, Herbie Hancock), Ruben Blades, a Turkish orchestra and more!

“I always look forward to playing my old home town”, says bandleader and Queen’s Diamond Jubilee recipient Chris McKhool. “So many memories of Ottawa winters skating on the canal, and the incredible snow banks of my childhood... We wanted to make a real contribution to the Christmas repertoire, and hopefully create some new standards. This is a Christmas show and album but approached from the perspective of a world-music band. We explored diverse genres, from Quebecois fiddle tunes to collaborating with a traditional Turkish string ensemble and jump around from the classic sounds of the Andrews Sisters, to a Himalayan sleigh ride, African roots music, Gypsy-jazz, rumba flamenco, ska, and even the grandeur of the symphony." 

Website | FacebookTwitter | Instagram

buy-tickets-EN-250x250



Ages: Adult
Language: English

Tickets (all-in price):
Premium $50
Regular $45
Student $20
 

Venue: Harold Shenkman Hall
Genre: Music, Holiday


Ticket Purchase

December 19 at 8:00 pm

Sultans of String - Christmas Caravan, with special guests Rebecca Campbell, Kellylee Evans, Lynn Miles, Kristine St-Pierre and Twin Flames

Présenté par : Centre des arts Shenkman Présente

Le jeudi 19 décembre 2019 à 20 h

Célébrez le temps des fêtes avec un voyage musical qui vous fera parcourir le monde! Nommé trois fois aux prix Juno, le groupe Sultans of String offre une performance exubérante mettant en vedette des pièces originales du groupe, des classiques inspirés par la musique du monde et des airs favoris du temps des fêtes qui sauront réchauffer les cœurs en cette froide soirée d’hiver. En passant de fougueux airs de violon à une promenade en traîneau dans les Caraïbes, cette surprenante et charmante célébration du temps des fêtes s’intensifie lorsque les récipiendaires de trois Prix de musique folk canadienne ajoutent leur sonorité signature à des airs renommés tels que Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring, The Huron Carol (avec des paroles autochtones nouvellement traduites), Little Drummer Boy au djembé, une adaptation turque de Greensleeves, une mélodie Django Christmas d’inspiration jazz manouche ainsi qu’un Jingle Bells joué sur un rythme de rumba flamenca.

Le groupe Sultans of String sera accompagné sur scène par des artistes originaires d’Ottawa : Rebecca Campbell, Kellylee Evans, Lynn Miles et Kristine St-Pierre. L’album d’accompagnement Christmas Caravan du groupe a trôné au 6e rang du palmarès des musiques du monde du magazine Billboard et dans la liste des succès musicaux du New York Times, en plus de mettre en vedette des sommités telles que Paddy Moloney du groupe The Chieftains, la chanteuse Nikki Yanofsky dont les albums ont été maintes fois certifiés platine, le gagnant de prix Juno Alex Cuba, Benoit Bourque de la Bottine Souriante, le groupe lauréat d'un prix Grammy Sweet Honey in The Rock, Richard Bona (Paul Simon, Herbie Hancock), Ruben Blades, un orchestre turc et plus encore!

« J’ai toujours hâte de rejouer dans ma ville natale », soutient le leader du groupe et récipiendaire d’une Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II, Chris McKhool. « J’ai tant de souvenirs d’Ottawa en hiver, comme le patinage sur le canal et les incroyables bancs de neige de mon enfance… Nous voulions apporter une contribution réelle au répertoire de Noël, en espérant aussi établir de nouveaux standards. C’est un spectacle et un album de Noël, mais abordé sous l’angle d’un groupe de musique du monde. Nous avons exploré différents genres, en passant des airs de violon québécois à une collaboration avec un ensemble à cordes turc traditionnel, puis à des airs classiques des Andrews Sisters, à une promenade en traîneau sur l'Himalaya, à de la musique d’inspiration africaine, jazz manouche, rumba flamenca, ska, sans oublier la grandeur de la musique symphonique. » 

Site web | FacebookTwitter | Instagram

buy-tickets-FR-250x250



Âge : Adulte
Langue : Anglais

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Premium 50 $
Régulier 45 $
Étudiants  20 $
 

Lieu : Salle Harold-Shenkman
Genre : Musique, Fêtes


Billets

Le 19 décembre à 20 h 00