The Nutcracker

Presented by: Canada’s Ballet Jörgen

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 at 7 pm and 
Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 1:30 pm and 7 pm

Holiday magic is made year after year by Canada’s Ballet Jörgen’s traditional treasure The Nutcracker: A Canadian Tradition. Created by acclaimed choreographer and Artistic Director Bengt Jörgen to Tchaikovsky’s well-loved score, this delightful classic is a favourite that brings magic to the holidays.

Born from a collaboration with Kleinburg’s world renowned McMichael Canadian Art Collection, and with well over 100 costumes in richly coloured fabrics, The Nutcracker: A Canadian Tradition brings out the magic of Canada. 20th Century landscapes make up the stunning 30-foot backdrops, including Franklin Carmichael’s Church and Houses at Bisset (1931), Tom Thompson’s Snow in the Woods (1916), and L.L. Fitzgerald’s Trees and Wildflowers (1922). This is a beautiful Canadian work, and audiences are taken on Klara’s familiar, magical dream journey as she arrives in Canada and experiences winter landscapes filled with snowflakes, lumberjacks, Mounties, and creatures of the woods.

This celebration of the wonder of the season is based on the popular traditional story The Nutcracker and the King of mice by E.T.A. Hoffman, enjoyed by audiences for years. The ballet’s second act is remembered for its celebration of varied dances, and our charming divertissements of raccoons, loons, dragonflies, and bears demonstrate Klara’s longing for the summer months as she travels excitedly through her dreams. The iconic, show-stopping pas-de-deux in the final act is lovingly danced by Lord and Lady Birch as they usher Klara safely home at the end of the adventure.

Canada’s Ballet Jörgen’s Nutcracker is destined to become a national treasure that will warm the hearts of young and old alike. It is a holiday tradition that has showcased the magic of the season for years. Rediscover the joy of dance with the show that audiences flock back to again and again:
The Nutcracker: A Canadian Tradition

Choreography: Bengt Jörgen
Music: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Set and Costume Design: Sue LePage
Lighting Design: Bonnie Beecher

Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Ages: All ages
Language: English, French

Tickets (all-in price):

Rows AA-E
Adult - $60
Senior - $50

Child/Student - $43
Group 10+ - $36

Rows F-Q

Adult - $54
Senior - $46
Child/Student - $40
Group 10+ - $36

PLEASE NOTE: 
All patrons entering the theatre must have a ticket. A complimentary ticket is available for babes-in-arms at shows designated for children. "Babes in arms" are children 12 months or younger that will not occupy an additional seat. Parents/guardians who have paid admission must pick up these tickets in person from the Box Office on the day of the show only.


Venue: Harold Shenkman Hall
Genre: Dance, Holiday


Ticket Purchase

December 13 at 7:00 pm

Ticket Purchase

December 14 at 1:30 pm

Ticket Purchase

December 14 at 7:00 pm

Casse-Noisette, une tradition canadienne

Présenté par : Ballet Jörgen du Canada

Le mercredi 13 décembre 2017 à 19 h et 
le jeudi 14 décembre 2017 à 13 h 30 et 19 h

Ballet Jörgen du Canada : Casse-noisette, une tradition canadienne


Année après année, le joyau traditionnel du Ballet Jörgen du Canada, Casse-noisette, une tradition canadienne, recrée la magie des fêtes. Conçu par le chorégraphe et directeur artistique reconnu Bengt Jörgen sur la très belle musique de Tchaikovsky, ce merveilleux classique très prisé ajoutera une touche de magie aux fêtes.

Issu d’une collaboration avec la Collection McMichael d’art canadien de Kleinburg renommée dans le monde entier, Casse-noisette, une tradition canadienne fait ressortir la beauté saisissante du Canada et présente plus de 100 costumes aux tissus riches en couleurs. Des toiles impressionnantes de 30 pi de paysages du XXe siècle, notamment  Church and Houses at Bisset (1931) de Franklin Carmichael, Neige dans les bois (1916) de Tom Thompson et Trees and Wildflowers (1922) de L.L. Fitzgerald, ornent l’arrière-scène. Il s’agit d’une magnifique œuvre canadienne qui transportera le public grâce au prodigieux voyage de rêve familier de Clara, qui arrive au Canada et découvre les paysages d’hiver remplis de flocons de neige, de bûcherons, de membres de la police montée et de créatures des bois.

Cette célébration des merveilles hivernales repose sur l’histoire populaire traditionnelle Casse-noisette et le Roi des souris, d’E.T.A. Hoffman, appréciée du public depuis des années. On se souvient du deuxième acte du ballet, qui met à l’honneur des danses variées et où nos charmants intermèdes de ratons-laveurs, de huards, de libellules et d’ours montrent que Clara s’ennuie des mois d’été alors que, captivée, elle voyage dans ses rêves. Le légendaire pas de deux spectaculaire dans le dernier acte est exécuté gracieusement par Lord et Lady Birch pendant qu’ils reconduisent Clara chez elle en toute sécurité à la fin de l’aventure.

Casse-noisette du Ballet Jörgen du Canada est en voie de devenir un joyau national qui réchauffera le cœur des jeunes et des moins jeunes. Depuis des années, cette tradition montre la magie du temps des fêtes. Redécouvrez la joie de la danse grâce à ce spectacle où le public ne cesse de revenir : Casse-noisette, une tradition canadienne.  

Chorégraphie : Bengt Jörgen
Musique: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Conception des costumes et de décors : Sue LePage
Conception d’éclairage : Bonnie Beecher

Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Âge : Tous les âges
Langue : Anglais, Français

Billets (prix tout compris) :

Rangs AA à E
Adulte - 60 $
Aînées - 50 $
Enfant/étudiant - 43 $
Groupe de 10 et plus - 36 $

Rangs F à Q
Adulte - 54 $
Aînées - 46 $
Enfant/étudiant - 40 $
Group de 10 et plus - $36

À NOTER :
Toutes les personnes qui se présentent au théâtre doivent détenir un billet. Un billet gratuit est disponible pour les "tout-petits" aux spectacles désignés pour les enfants. Les "tout-petits" sont des enfants âgés de 12 mois et moins qui n'occuperont pas de siège supplémentaire. Les parents ou accompagnateurs qui ont déjà leur billet doivent se présenter en personne pour prendre ces billets à la billetterie le jour même du spectacle uniquement.


Lieu : Salle Harold-Shenkman
Genre : Danse, Fêtes


Billets

Le 13 décembre à 19 h 00

Billets

Le 14 décembre à 13 h 30

Billets

Le 14 décembre à 19 h 00