L'histoire de Babar

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Saturday, April 7, 2018 at 3 pm

Created by Jeunesses Musicales Canada

This tale, full of twists and turns, will definitely have families moved to tears and laughter. Featuring the music of Francis Poulenc, one of France’s greatest composers, this show presents the remarkable story of King Babar. Majestic, entertaining, and moving, this show captures the adventures of the little elephant while presenting an evocative array of musical forms: the lullaby sung by Babar’s mother, the Musette waltz of the pastries, the wedding march and polka, and the lovely finale – a nocturne bathed in moonlight.

(Run time: 35 minutes)

Stay after the show to meet the artists and explore what you just saw on stage! You will have a choice of two workshops you can attend for just $5. Register soon – participation is limited! (Workshop tickets are only available by calling 613-580-2700 or by visiting our box office in person.)


Babar in Music


Create a new Babar adventure and your own musical arrangement for the story! Drawing on composer Francis Poulenc’s music for The Story of Babar, the children will identify the funny sounds to be included in their new arrangement. They will select instruments to create sound effects and compose their own new storytelling arrangement.

Target audience: Ages 3 to 7
Length of each workshop: 30 minutes
Maximum number of participants: 16 children per group (parent supervision required)
Language of workshop: French 


Babar on Stage


Challenge your imagination! As part of this workshop, the children will craft their own puppet versions of Babar, Celeste and Arthur or any other elephant character based on The Story of Babar concert. They will then have the chance to improvise actions and situations with their characters in a series of theatrical games.

Target audience: Ages 3 to 7
Length of each workshop: 30 minutes
Maximum number of participants: 16 children per group (parent supervision required)
Language of workshop: French



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Ages: 3 to 7 years
Language: French

Tickets (all-in price):
Regular:
Adult: $20
Child: $15
Familly (family of 4): $64 

Front+Centre member:
Adult: $18
Child: $13
Familly (family of 4): $57

Workshop tickets are only available by calling 613-580-2700 or by visiting our box office in person.

Please note:
All patrons entering the theatre must have a ticket. At shows designated for children 6 years old or younger, a complimentary ticket is available for babes-in-arms. Babes-in-arms are children 12 months of age or younger who will not occupy an additional seat. Parents/guardians must pick up these tickets in person from the Box Office on the day of the show only.


Front + Centre members get the first chance to purchase, between May 30 and June 7, 2017. Become a Front + Centre Member to be first in line for a brilliant range of shows, plus so much more!


This project has been made possible in part by the Government of Canada.

SAC - Canada Wordmark
Venue: Richcraft Theatre
Genre: Family, Musical/Theatre


Ticket Purchase

April 07 at 3:00 pm

L'histoire de Babar

Présenté par : Centre des arts Shenkman présente

Le samedi 7 avril 2018 à 15 h

Créé par les Jeunesses Musicales Canada

Un récit plein de rebondissements, accompagné d’une musique colorée et dynamique qui sauront à coup sûr émouvoir et faire rire toute la famille. Faites découvrir aux petits la célèbre histoire du roi Babar, brillamment mise en musique par un des plus grands compositeurs français, Francis Poulenc. Une pièce à la fois touchante, amusante et grandiose qui vous fera entendre les images sonores des aventures du petit éléphant sous diverses formes musicales : la berceuse chantée par la mère de Babar, la valse musette de la pâtisserie, la marche du mariage, la polka des noces et la finale nocturne sous le clair de lune.

(Durée : 35 minutes)

Restez après le spectacle pour rencontrer les artistes et explorer les thèmes abordés sur scène! Vous aurez le choix entre deux ateliers pour 5 $ seulement. Ne tardez pas à vous inscrire – le nombre de places est limité! (Les billets pour les ateliers sont en vente uniquement à la billetterie en personne ou par téléphone au 613-580-2700.)

Babar en musique

Inventez une nouvelle aventure de Babar et créez l’accompagnement sonore de l'histoire! En prenant pour exemple la musique composée par Francis Poulenc pour L’histoire de Babar de Jean de Brunhoff, les jeunes identifieront dans leur nouvelle histoire les bruits amusants à reproduire. Ils choisiront des instruments pour créer des effets sonores et produiront leur nouveau conte musical en finale.

Public cible : 3 à 7 ans
Durée de chaque atelier : 30 minutes
Nombre maximal de participants : 16 enfants par groupe (supervision d’un adulte exigée)
Langue de présentation : français


Babar en scène


Aiguisez votre imagination! Dans cet atelier, les jeunes fabriqueront une marionnette soit de Babar, de Céleste, d’Arthur ou d’un autre personnage d’éléphant du concert L’histoire de Babar. Un jeu théâtral sera ensuite dirigé où ils auront à faire vivre des actions et situations improvisées à leur personnage.

Public cible : 3 à 7 ans
Durée de chaque atelier : 30 minutes
Nombre maximal de participants : 16 enfants par groupe (supervision d’un adulte exigée)
Langue de présentation : français




Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Âge :
3 à 7 ans
Langue : Français

Billets (prix tout compris) :

Régulier:

Adulte : 20 $
Enfant : 15 $
Famille (4 personnes): 64 $

Abonné d'Avant-scène :
Adulte : 18 $
Enfant : 13 $
Famille (4 personnes): 57 $

Les billets pour les ateliers sont en vente uniquement à la billetterie en personne ou par téléphone au 613-580-2700.

À noter :
Toutes les personnes qui se présentent au théâtre doivent détenir un billet. Pour les spectacles destinés aux enfants âgés de six ans et moins, on peut obtenir un billet gratuit pour les tout-petits, c'est-à-dire les enfants âgés de douze mois et moins qui n'occupent pas de siège supplémentaire. Les parents ou accompagnateurs doivent se présenter en personne pour prendre ces billets à la billetterie le jour même du spectacle uniquement.


Les abonnés d’Avant-scène peuvent se procurer des billets en prévente du 30 mai au 7 juin 2017. Abonnez-vous à Avant-scène pour être parmi les premiers en ligne pour une brillante sélection de spectacles!


Ce projet a été rendu possible en partie grâce au gouvernement du Canada.

SAC - Canada Wordmark

Lieu : Théâtre Richcraft
Genre : Famille, Théâtre/Musical


Billets

Le 7 avril à 15 h 00