Baghdadiat - Iraqi Maqam Concert

Presented by: The Iraqi Canadian Society Of Ontario

Friday, April 20, 2018 at 8:00 pm


Hussein Al-Adhami is the most prominent Maqam singer in the Arab world. Born in Iraq in 1952, he graduated from the Institute of Music Studies 1979, and became the first professor of Maqam, dedicating his life to pursue the legacy that his masters started decades before him.

Maqam is the urban classical vocal tradition of Iraq. Found primarily in the cities of Baghdad, Mosul, Kirkuk, and Basra, the maqam repertoire draws upon musical styles of the many populations in Iraq, such as the Bedouins, rural Arabs, Kurds, and Turkmen as well as neighboring Persians, Turks, and other populations that have had extensive contact with Iraq throughout history. Maqam’s highly-structured, semi-improvised, compositions can take years of disciplined study under a master to learn fully.

The Maqam has its roots in Mesopotamian culture, and, like blues or jazz, places emphasis on the musician's ability to improvise within an established framework. Its sound is plaintive, often covering themes of sadness and exile drawn from ancient Sufi texts, delivered with an immense vocal and tonal range. Often rhythmically free and meditative, they are sung to Classical Arabic and colloquial Iraqi poetry, and are followed by light-hearted, rhythmic songs, known as pestaat.

Don’t miss this unique opportunity to see one of the world’s finest maqam performers in one of Ottawa’s best sounding concert halls.

Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link

Ages: All ages
Language: Arabic

Tickets (all-in price):
Rows AA-CC: $66.25
Rows A-E: $56.25
Rows F-Q: $46.25

Venue: Harold Shenkman Hall
Genre: Music

Ticket Purchase

April 20 at 8:00 pm

Baghdadiat - Iraqi Maqam Concert

Présenté par : The Iraqi Canadian Society Of Ontario

Le vendredi 20 avril 2018 à 20 h 

LE MAQÂM IRAQUIEN DE BAGHDAD

Hussein Al-Adhami est le plus réputé chanteur de maqâm du monde arabe. Né en Irak en 1952 et diplômé de l’Institut iraquien des études musicales en 1979, il est devenu le premier professeur de maqâm, consacrant sa vie à transmettre l’héritage légué par ses maîtres des décennies auparavant.

Le maqâm est un genre musical urbain classique d’Irak de tradition vocale qu’on entend principalement dans les villes de Bagdad, de Mossoul, de Kirkouk et de Bassorah. Son répertoire s’inspire des styles musicaux des nombreuses populations d’Irak, comme les Bédouins, les Arabes des régions rurales, les Kurdes et les Turkmènes, ainsi que de populations voisines, comme les Perses et les Turcs, qui ont eu des contacts étroits avec l’Irak tout au long de l’histoire. Il faut des années d’étude rigoureuse sous la direction d’un maître pour apprendre parfaitement certaines compositions semi-improvisées et hautement structurées de maqâm.

Enraciné dans la culture mésopotamienne, le maqâm, à l’instar du blues ou du jazz, met l’accent sur la capacité du musicien à improviser dans un cadre établi. Cette musique plaintive, dont les thèmes parlant de tristesse et d’exil sont puisés dans d’anciens textes soufis, possède une riche étendue vocale et tonale. Les compositions, aux rythmes souvent libres et méditatifs, sont chantées sur des poésies arabes classiques et iraquiennes populaires et sont suivies de chants rythmiques et légers, les pestaat.

Ne manquez pas cette occasion unique de voir l’un des plus remarquables interprètes de maqâm au monde dans l’une des salles de concert qui offre la meilleure qualité sonore à Ottawa.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link

Âge : Tous les âges
Langue : Arabic

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Rangs AA-CC : 66,25 $
Rangs A-E : 56,25 $
Rangs F-Q : 46,25 $


Lieu : Salle Harold-Shenkman
Genre : Musique


Billets

Le 20 avril à 20 h 00