Yeshe Trio presents “Woven” opening act: Diane Nalini Trio

Presented by: Le Tourneur de l’Anse

Friday, April 28, 2017 at 7:30 pm

After a five-year break, authentic world musician Yeshe, from Australia, will be performing songs from his newly-released album Woven on Friday, April 28, at 7:30 p.m.

With delightful opener Diane Nalini Trio.


An authentic world musician, German-born Yeshe wandered all over the globe before settling in Australia. His travels brought him to Europe, Africa, Asia—and Quebec, which has held a special place in his heart since his first trip to the province in 2003, as a musical sidekick to the great Henry Manx. Yeshe will launch his five-song EP Woven, his most personal release to date, on March 3. “I have finally found my voice, my sound,” he says, beaming. “It really speaks to who I am as a musician, and the lyrics are very dear to me—they come from a deep place.” Woven is a musical oasis that comforts the soul and delivers welcome sanctuary in these uncertain times.

A man of many talents, Yeshe learned guitar, cello and drums before taking on traditional African instruments, such as the m’bira and n’goni, which he wields quite masterfully today. Yeshe will play songs off Woven while he is in Quebec, as well as pieces from his first two albums, World Citizen (2005) and Roots & Wings (2010), the latter of which features his splendid cover of Zachary Richard’s classic “La ballade de Jean Batailleur.”

“Writing a song is like putting a message in a bottle and throwing it into the sea. You hope it will wash up on a warm beach, but you never know. When someone covers a song, the composer is always flattered and pleased when the rendition does it justice. I discovered Yeshe when he covered ‘La ballade de Jean Batailleur.’ He has everything I look for musically. His story is even more surprising than mine: an American singing in French in Quebec. His path from Germany to Australia is surprising in itself. Add Africa to the mix and you end up with the exact sort of cross-fertilization I find truly fascinating. Like Yeshe, I am a huge fan of African music. And now I’m a big fan of Yeshe.” (Zachary Richard)

Jazz singer/songwriter and composer Diane Nalini offers a line-up containing new original songs and haunting standards. Accompanied by some of the most talented musicians in the business, the singer paints her audience a landscape scattered with passion, poetry, sadness and budding affection.

With four albums under her belt, renowned performer Nalini writes and sings in four languages. She has appeared at jazz festivals around the world, and gala performances for President Bill Clinton and Sir Paul McCartney. She was a finalist at the Grand Prix de Jazz General Motors at the 2002 Montreal International Jazz Festival and was one of two finalists for the UK’s Young Jazz Vocalist of the Year in 2001. Her music has appeared in independent films and on television. Her song “L’amour d’autrefois,” which she co-wrote with British composer and arranger Dick Walter, was featured on the soundtrack of Hollywood production Charlotte Gray, starring Cate Blanchett.

Show presented by Tourneur de l’Anse
Marketing managed by Six Media


Artist Website link Artist Facebook link

Ages: All ages
Language: French, English

Tickets (all-in price):
Regular: $34.50


Venue: Richcraft Theatre
Genre: Music


Ticket Purchase

April 28 at 7:30 pm

Yeshe Trio présente “Woven” en première partie: Diane Nalini Trio

Présenté par : Le Tourneur de l’Anse

Le vendredi 28 avril 2017 à 19 h 30

Après 5 ans d’absence, l’authentique musicien du monde, l’Australien Yeshe, vient nous présenter son nouvel album Woven le vendredi 28 avril 2017 à 19 h 30.

En première partie, le merveilleux Diane Nalini Trio.


Authentique musicien du monde, l’Allemand Yeshe a fait le tour de la planète avant de poser ses valises en Australie. Ses voyages l’ont mené en Europe, en Afrique, en Asie et au Québec, terre qu’il affectionne tout particulièrement depuis qu’il y a mis les pieds en 2003 en tant que comparse musical du grand Harry Manx. Il lancera le 3 mars prochain Woven, un EP de cinq titres et son œuvre la plus personnelle en carrière. « J'ai enfin trouvé ma voix et ma sonorité » explique un Yeshe manifestement heureux du résultat. « Ça me ressemble beaucoup musicalement et les paroles me sont chères, je les porte profondément en moi. » Woven est un véritable oasis musical qui berce l’âme et qui confond les temps incertains dans lesquels nous vivons.

Artiste touche à tout, Yeshe a commencé par apprendre la guitare, le violoncelle et la batterie avant d’apprivoiser des instruments traditionnels africains comme la m’bira et le n’goni, qu’il manie aujourd’hui avec brio. Lors de son passage prochain en terre québécoise, il vient présenter les pièces de Woven en plus de celles de ses deux premiers albums World Citizen (2005) et Roots & Wings (2010), sur lequel figure sa magnifique version du classique La ballade de Jean Batailleur de Zachary Richard.

« Composer une chanson c’est comme mettre un message dans une bouteille et la garrocher au large. On espère toujours qu’elle va atterrir sur une plage sympathique, mais on ne sait jamais. Quand une composition est reprise, le compositeur est toujours flatté et heureux quand l’interprétation est bonne. J’ai découvert Yeshe grâce à sa version de La Ballade de Jean Batailleur. Il a tout pour me plaire musicalement. Son histoire est encore plus surprenante que la mienne, un Américain chantant en français au Québec. Son parcours de l’Allemagne à l’Australie est déjà étonnant. Ajoute l’Afrique et l’on arrive au genre de métissage qui me fascine. Je suis, comme Yeshe, un grand amateur de la musique africaine, et maintenant un grand fan de Yeshe. » (Zachary Richard)

L’auteure-compositrice-interprète de musique jazz Diane Nalini offre un programme où viennent se mêler nouvelles œuvres originales et standards évocateurs. Accompagnée de musiciens parmi les plus talentueux, la chanteuse dessine pour l’auditoire un paysage parsemé de passion, de poésie, de peines et d’amours naissants.

Interprète de renommée avec quatre albums à son actif, Nalini compose et chante dans quatre langues, s’est produite dans des festivals de jazz partout dans le monde, et a pris la scène dans des galas d’hommage au président Bill Clinton et à Sir Paul McCartney. En 2002, elle a été finaliste pour le Grand Prix de Jazz General Motors au Festival International de Jazz de Montréal et, en 2001, elle était l’une des deux finalistes pour le prix de Jeune interprète de jazz de l’année au Royaume-Uni. On a pu entendre ses compositions à la télévision et dans des films indépendants. La chanson « L’amour d’autrefois », qu’elle a coécrite avec le compositeur et arrangeur britannique Dick Walter, figurait à la trame sonore de la production hollywoodienne Charlotte Gray (L’Espionne par amour), mettant en vedette Cate Blanchett.

Spectacle présenté par le Tourneur de l’Anse.
Marketing géré par Six Média.


Artist Website link Artist Facebook link

Âge : Tous les âges
Langue : Français, Anglais

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Régulier : 34,50 $


Lieu : Théâtre Richcraft
Genre : Musique


Billets

Le 28 avril à 19 h 30