The Devin Cuddy Band with Opening Act John Carroll - Cancelled

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

Saturday, April 9, 2016 at 8 pm

Devin Cuddy’s unique musical style combines New Orleans blues, country and an element of Canadiana creating a sound so eloquent, that it leaves one wondering why no one has done this before. His new take on the genre is pushing the limits of what people think they want to dance to on a Saturday night.

As the son of one of Canada’s most beloved singer/songwriters, Blue Rodeo’s Jim Cuddy, country rock has been the soundtrack to Devin’s entire life. Devin noted in the Winnipeg Free Press that “my passion for music grew out of being surrounded by it for so long,” noting he and his siblings developed their musical tastes by picking through their dad’s vast collection of CDs.” No one can accuse Cuddy of not paying his dues over the past several years, and while his father has taken great pride in Devin’s accomplishments, he has also shown tremendous respect in keeping a safe distance away.

From the moment Devin was drawn to playing music, he was determined to get as close as possible to the sources of all the sounds he loved, whether they were made by rock and roll’s founding fathers, the Grand Ole Opry’s honky-tonk heroes, or Jelly Roll Morton and the kings of jazz.

Devin burst onto the Queen Street music scene in 2010, taking up a residency at the Cameron House on Wednesday nights where he work-shopped the songs that were eventually recorded on his recently released his debut album, Volume One, on Cameron House Records. The album includes a stellar cast of musicians, namely, Nichol Robertson (guitar), Devon Richardson (bass), and Zach Sutton (drums). The album received a Juno Nomination for Roots / Traditional Album of the Year. By the time this performance rolls around, he will have recorded his second album, Kitchen Knife.

Artist Website linkSAC - Events Facebook IconSAC - Events Twitter Icon 

Opening Act: John Carroll

Ottawa’s own John Carroll will open the show. John’s built himself a reputation for his witty banter, sly observations and impressive guitar style through his weekly appearances at The Chateau Lafayette and around the region.

Ages: All ages
Language: English

Tickets (all-in price):
Regular: $27
uGO: $20
eyeGO: $5

Venue: Harold Shenkman Hall
Genre: Music


April 09 at 8:00 pm

The Devin Cuddy Band avec John Carroll en première partie - annulé

Présenté par : Centre des Arts Shenkman Présente

Le samedi 9 avril 2016 à 20 h

Le style musical unique de Devin Cuddy est un amalgame de blues de La Nouvelle-Orléans et de country, et d’un soupçon de musique traditionnelle canadienne. Le résultat est si convaincant qu’on s’étonne que personne n’ait tenté de les combiner auparavant. Ce genre revisité repousse les limites de la musique de danse du samedi soir.

Fils de Jim Cuddy de Blue Rodeo, un des auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes chéris du Canada, Devin a grandi au son de la country rock. Lors d’une entrevue accordée au Winnipeg Free Press, Devin a expliqué que sa passion pour la musique est née du fait qu’il s’en est imprégné de longues années, et que lui, son frère et sa sœur ont développé leurs goûts musicaux en explorant la vaste collection d’albums de leur père. Personne ne peut accuser Devin de ne pas avoir fait ses preuves au cours des dernières années, et si Jim est très fier des réussites de son fils, il s’est aussi montré très respectueux en le laissant voler de ses propres ailes.

Dès ses débuts, Devin tenait à ce que sa musique se rapproche des racines des styles qu’il aimait, qu’il s’agisse de celui des pionniers du rock and roll, des héros du honky tonk de Grand Ole Opry ou de Jelly Roll Morton et des rois du jazz.

Devin a pris d’assaut la scène musicale de la rue Queen en 2010, lorsqu’il a commencé à jouer à la Cameron House le mercredi soir. C’est à ce moment qu’il a composé les chansons de son premier album, Volume One, de la maison de disques Cameron House Records. L’album regroupe de brillants musiciens – le guitariste Nichol Robertson, le bassiste Devon Richardson et le batteur Zach Sutton – et lui a valu une nomination aux prix Juno dans la catégorie Album Roots et traditionnel de l’année. Depuis, Devin a continué de bâtir sa réputation et sorti un deuxième album, Kitchen Knife.

Artist Website linkSAC - Events Facebook IconSAC - Events Twitter Icon 

John Carroll, de la région d’Ottawa, ouvrira le spectacle. M. Carroll s’est bâti une solide réputation grâce à ses bouffonneries spirituelles, ses observations rusées et son style impressionnant à la guitare, et ce, au moyen de spectacles hebdomadaires au Château Lafayette et ailleurs dans la région.

Âge : Tous les âges
Langue : Anglais

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Régulier : 27 $
uGO : 20 $
eyeGO : 5 $

Lieu : Salle Harold-Shenkman
Genre : Musique


Le 9 avril à 20 h 00