Policies and FAQ

Accessibility Services

Accessibility Services Tickets

The theatre accommodates individuals with special needs requests through our call centre, which may be reached at 613-580-2700.


The theatre does not allow animals or pets, with the exception of service animals such as guide dogs. A service animal is any guide dog, signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance to a person with a disability.

Companion Tickets

At a minimum, based upon availability, you will be permitted to purchase tickets for you and one guest beside you. You may also purchase tickets based upon availability for additional guests in close proximity to our wheelchair sections.


There are two elevators at the Shenkman Arts Centre, one on the North side of the facility and another on the South side of the facility.

Hearing Assistance

Hearing assistance is provided as a courtesy and is free of charge. We require the user's name and phone number with a credit card or car keys as security for return of the system. The system at Shenkman Arts Centre is a FM Transmitter (216 Mhz). The headphones work as a normal stereo headset and attach to a small handheld radio. The FM system connects to microphones off stage. These can be accessed at Guest Services on the second level.

Seat Relocation

If you are a wheelchair user and obtain non-accessible tickets please call our Box Office at 613-580-2700 in order to be relocated, whenever possible, to a designated wheelchair location. We encourage you to notify our staff when purchasing tickets, so that we may better assist you in ensuring the proper seating.

Temporary Disabilities

If you have a temporary disability/injury and you have already purchased tickets to an event, please call our Box Office at 613-580-2700 so we may make the necessary arrangements for you to attend the event in a comfortable and enjoyable manner whenever possible. When calling, please have the event, date, section, row, and seat available.

TTY to voice

Patrons who are hard of hearing, speech or hearing impaired are advised to dial 711 (TTY to voice) to contact a Bell Relay operator. Voice users, please call 1-800-855-0511 (voice to TTY). There is no charge associated with this service for local calls.


For individuals who have limited mobility, we can provide a wheelchair to transport guests from our Main Lobby to your seats. Upon arriving at the theatre, please ask a staff member for assistance. Please be aware that our staff will not remain with the patron during the event, nor will they allow the guest to remain in the wheelchair for the duration of the event if the guest has not reserved a wheelchair seat.

Facility Services

Bank Machine

For your convenience there is a Bank Machine available in the Lower Lobby. If you experience any issues/difficulties with the machine, please contact the number listed on the machine.

Baby Change Facilities

The Centre provides a baby-changing table in the Lower Lobby restrooms.

Booster Seats

Available for every show, these seats are made of durable plastic and can make the theatre experience more enjoyable for adults and children. A limited number of seats are available.

Coat Check

Coat Check services are available for a nominal charge for most events. Please note that service availability is dependent on the weather. The Centre is not responsible for lost or stolen items.


If you are looking for a snack at an event, please stop by our vending machines to purchase candy, soda, and bottled water. At most events, you will be able to purchase water, pop, beer and wine at our bar. We currently only accept cash for drink sales. We have a Bank Machine and a change machine on site for your convenience. Food is not permitted in the seating area. Drinks (including alcohol) are permitted in the seating area.

Lost and Found

Please contact Guest Services at 613-580-2787 to inquire about the possible recovery of any lost items. If you realize you have lost an item while still at the event, please speak to any staff member for assistance.


Ample free parking is available at Shenkman Arts Centre. Please follow this link to see our parking map.



Shenkman Arts Centre is committed to providing a safe and enjoyable atmosphere. Any guest in need of assistance during an event should seek a staff member or stop by Guest Services.


Shenkman Arts Centre does not provide a stroller check. However we will try to make accommodations for you. Please ask any of our ushers for assistance. Please note that Shenkman Arts Centre is not responsible for any damaged, lost or stolen strollers or other items.


Shenkman Arts Centre does not provide a walker check. However we can try to make accommodations for you. Please ask any of our ushers for assistance. Please note that Shenkman Arts Centre is not responsible for any damaged, lost or stolen walkers or other items.

Top ]


Ticket Services

Collection of Information

Collection Notice: Personal information is collected pursuant to s. 10(1) of the Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c.25, and will be used for the purposes of communicating pertinent event details, and promotions, by only the City of Ottawa and professional presenting programming partners. We do not reveal specific information about users or other personally identifiable data to unaffiliated third parties for their independent use, except if required to do so by law.

Ticket Refunds

Tickets for events at the theatre are sold on a non-refundable and non-exchangeable basis.

Lost Tickets

If you have lost your tickets or they have been stolen before the event takes place, please contact our Box Office at 613-580-2700.

Seating Capacity

The seating capacity of Harold Shenkman Hall is approximately 500; however, this capacity does change depending on the requirements of the event. The Richcraft Theatre’s capacity varies depending on the event, but can seat up to 150 people.

Where to Sit?

Follow this link for a seating map of our Harold Shenkman Hall. For most events specific seats may be selected from the seat map online. When ordering tickets over the phone or in person we will try our best to seat you in a requested area whenever possible.

Harold Shenkman Hall

Ticket Pick-up

Tickets may be picked up at Guest Services (second level) at Shenkman Arts Centre. Please bring valid photo ID, the credit card used to purchase the tickets with and your confirmation number.

Top ]


Theatre Policies


For safety and as a courtesy to other ticketholders, please do not sit or stand in the aisles. Aisles should be kept clear at all times.

Alcohol Management

For most events at the theatre, alcoholic beverages are available for purchase. Our staff is trained in the provincial Smart Serve Training program for responsible alcohol service. All guests appearing to be under the age of 30 may be required to show ID to purchase alcohol. Guests are not permitted to bring outside alcohol into the Centre, and may not leave the premises with alcohol purchased from the Centre. Alcohol purchased at our bar is permitted in the theatres. Management reserves the right to refuse the sale of alcohol to any guest.


For concert events, the policy on photography is at the discretion of the artist. For family events cameras will be permitted, however we ask that you please refrain from taking during performances as this may be distracting not only to the performers, but your fellow patrons as well. Video cameras/recorders are strictly prohibited. This policy will be enforced.

Cell phones/pagers

Cell phones and pagers must be set silent/vibrate mode. Please refrain from texting while in the theatre unless the performer has specified otherwise.


All patrons entering the theatre must have a ticket. At shows designated for children 6 years old or younger, a complimentary ticket is available for babes-in-arms. Babes-in-arms are children 12 months of age or younger who will not occupy an additional seat. Parents/guardians must pick up these tickets in person from the Box Office on the day of the show only.

For all other shows, tickets must be purchased for all patrons in attendance, regardless of age. Children whose behaviour is hampering the enjoyment of the show by surrounding patrons may be asked, with their parents/guardians, to leave the theatre.

This decision is determined by Ontario Fire Code regulations which state that everyone attending a performance must have an admission ticket and an assigned seat. This policy is in line with industry standards across Canada. This measure is taken to ensure the approved seating capacity of the auditorium is not exceeded and for the safety of all guests.

Are there discounts for children, infants, seniors, students or groups?

The presenting company (rental client) sets the ticket prices. These types of discounts are frequently available. See individual Event Listings.

Disturbance of Other Patrons

Please be considerate to other patrons. Any guest who interferes with the enjoyment of another individual during an event is subject to removal from the building. Theatre staff & volunteers have the right to refuse entrance or ask someone to leave.

Door Opening Times

Doors for events at the theatre open a half-hour prior to event start time.

Dress Code

The Theatre does not have an official dress code. When you attend, you will likely see people wearing anything from jeans & T-shirts to formal wear. If you are concerned about what to wear to the theatre, we recommend that you come in business office or dressy-casual attire; you’ll feel neither over-dressed nor under-dressed.

Emergency Contact Numbers

The best way to be contacted during an emergency is to set your beeper or cell phone to vibrate. Please be sure to leave your seat location information with your babysitter, as the theatre will not page ticketholders during an event.

Food / Drink

Food is not permitted in the auditorium. Bottled water is permitted. For licensed events, alcohol is also permitted.

Inclement Weather

The theatre rarely cancels or postpones events due to inclement weather. Please be advised that tickets for all events are sold on a non-refundable and non-exchangeable basis. This stipulation is clearly marked on each ticket. Should a decision be made to cancel or postpone an event, this information will be posted, as soon as we receive it, and we will contact all ticket purchasers to advise them of the change. Please continue to check our website and call our main information telephone line for the latest, up-to-the-minute information.


Most performances over 60 minutes in length will include a 15-20 minute intermission.


Many events at the theatre have merchandise for sale. Sales are by cash only. There is a Bank Machine in the Lower Lobby for your convenience.


Shenkman Art Centre is a scent-free environment. We ask patrons to please refrain from the use and wearing of scented products when attending an event in the Centre.


During performances we ask all guests to remain seated for the duration of the performance. Standing may be accepted for certain events (such as concerts) as normal protocol. Guests are permitted to stand in front of their own seat if the majority of the audience is doing the same. Some entertainers will instruct our staff not to ask anyone to sit down during their performance. Standing on seats or any other building structure is not permitted and may result in ejection from the event.

top ]

Temporary Disabilities If you have a temporary disability/injury and you have already purchased tickets to an event, please call our Box Office at 613-580-2700 so we may make the necessary arrangements for you to attend the event in a comfortable and enjoyable manner whenever possible. When calling, please have the event, date, section, row, and seat available.

Politiques et Foire aux questions

Les services accessibles

Service de billetterie accessible

Le centre d’appels du théâtre (613 580 2700) répond aux demandes des personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux.

Animaux

La présence d’animaux de compagnie est interdite, à l’exception des animaux d’assistance comme les chiens-guides. Un animal d’assistance est un chien-guide, un chien pour personne malentendante ou tout autre animal formé spécialement pour aider une personne handicapée.

Billet pour les personnes accompagnantes

Si des places sont disponibles, vous pouvez acheter au moins un billet pour vous et pour une personne qui vous accompagne. Vous pouvez également acheter un billet pour des invités supplémentaires s’il reste des places près des sections réservées aux fauteuils roulants.

Ascenseurs

Il y a deux ascenseurs au Centre des Arts Shenkman. Un au côté nord, et l’autre au côté sud.

Appareils pour personnes malentendantes

Le Centre des Arts Shenkman prête gratuitement des appareils pour personnes malentendantes. Pour assurer le retour de ces appareils, nous demandons aux personnes qui les empruntent de nous donner leur nom et leur numéro de téléphone, et de nous laisser une carte de crédit ou les clés de leur voiture.

Le système utilisé au Centre des Arts Shenkman est un émetteur FM de 216 MHz. Le casque accompagnant cet émetteur fonctionne comme un casque d’écoute normal et se raccorde à une petite radio portative. L’émetteur FM est relié à des microphones hors scène. On peut se procurer cet appareil au bureau d’information, situé au deuxième étage.

haut ]

Obtenir une autre place

Si vous utilisez un fauteuil roulant et que vous obtenez un billet pour un siège non accessible, veuillez communiquer avec la billetterie au 613-580-2700 afin que, dans la mesure du possible, on vous attribue une place à laquelle vous pourrez accéder en fauteuil roulant. Nous vous invitons à informer les membres du personnel de vos besoins lorsque vous achetez les billets afin que nous puissions y répondre.

Handicap temporaire

Si vous avez un handicap ou une blessure temporaire et que vous avez déjà acheté des billets, veuillez communiquer avec la billetterie au 613-580-2700 pour que nous prenions les dispositions nécessaires afin que vous puissiez bénéficier du maximum de confort possible quand vous assisterez à l’événement. Lorsque vous appellerez, veuillez avoir en main le nom et la date de l’événement, ainsi que la section et la rangée où vous deviez vous asseoir, de même que votre numéro de siège.

Fauteuils roulants

Les personnes à mobilité réduite peuvent emprunter un fauteuil roulant pour se rendre du hall d’entrée à leur siège. Pour obtenir ce service, elles doivent s’adresser à un membre du personnel à leur arrivée au théâtre. Veuillez prendre note que le membre du personnel ne restera pas aux côtés de la personne pendant l’événement et ne lui permettra pas de rester dans le fauteuil roulant pendant l’événement si elle n’a pas réservé de place à cet effet.

haut ]

Téléscripteur à voix

Les personnes qui ont une déficience auditive ou un trouble de la parole sont priées de composer le 711 (téléscripteur à voix) afin d’accéder au service de relais Bell. Utilisateurs vocaux : veuillez composer le 1 800-855-0511 (voix à téléscripteur). Ce service est gratuit dans le cas des appels locaux.

 haut ]


 

Commodités

Guichet automatique

Un guichet automatique est mis à votre disposition dans le foyer inférieur. Si vous avez de la difficulté à l’utiliser, veuillez composer le numéro qui y est inscrit.

Tables à langer

Il y a une table à langer dans les toilettes du foyer inférieur.

Sièges rehausseurs

Des sièges rehausseurs en plastique durable permettent aux adultes et aux enfants de mieux profiter des spectacles auxquels ils assistent. Leur nombre est toutefois limité.

Vestiaire

Un service de vestiaire abordable est offert pour la plupart des spectacles. Veuillez prendre note que la disponibilité du service dépend des conditions météorologiques. Le Centre n’est pas responsable des articles volés ou perdus.

Aliments et boissons

Si vous avez faim ou soif, vous pouvez vous procurer des friandises, des boissons gazeuses et de l’eau embouteillée dans des distributrices. De plus, lors de la plupart des événements, le bar vend de l’eau, des boissons gazeuses, de la bière et du vin. Pour le moment, les boissons doivent être payées en argent comptant. Le Centre est doté d’un guichet automatique et d’une distributrice de monnaie. Les aliments ne sont pas acceptés dans la zone des sièges, mais les boissons (y compris les boissons alcoolisées) le sont.

Objets perdus

Pour vérifier si nous avons trouvé un objet que vous avez perdu, veuillez communiquer avec la billetterie au 613-580-2700. Si, pendant un spectacle, vous constatez avoir perdu un objet, veuillez demander à un membre du personnel de vous aider.

Stationnement

Vous trouverez de nombreuses places de stationnement gratuites au Centre des arts Shenkman. Veuillez cliquer sur le lien suivant pour voir le plan du stationnement.

Sécurité

La direction du Centre des Arts Shenkman est déterminée à vous permettre de profiter d’une atmosphère agréable et sécuritaire. Les personnes qui ont besoin d’aide pendant un événement peuvent s’adresser à un membre du personnel ou au bureau d’information.

Poussettes

Le Centre des Arts Shenkman n’offre pas de service de consigne de poussettes. Toutefois, nous nous efforcerons de répondre à vos besoins. N’hésitez pas à demander de l’aide à l’un de nos placeurs. Veuillez prendre note que le Centre des Arts Shenkman n’est pas responsable des dommages, de la perte ou du vol de poussettes ou d’autres objets.

Marchettes

Le Centre des Arts Shenkman n’offre pas de service de consigne de marchettes. Toutefois, nous nous efforcerons de répondre à vos besoins. N’hésitez pas à demander de l’aide à l’un de nos placeurs. Veuillez prendre note que le Centre des Arts Shenkman n’est pas responsable des dommages, de la perte ou du vol de marchettes ou d’autres objets.

haut ]


Service de billetterie

Remboursement de billets

Les billets vendus pour les événements se déroulant au théâtre ne sont ni échangeables ni remboursables.

Billets perdus

Si vous avez perdu ou vous vous êtes fait voler un billet avant la tenue d’un événement, veuillez communiquer avec la billetterie au 613-580-2700.

Capacité

La capacité maximale de la salle Harold-Shenkman est d’environ 500 places, mais elle varie en fonction de l’événement. Celle du théâtre Richcraft, qui est de 150 places, varie également en fonction de l’événement.

Collecte d'informations

Avis de la collecte : Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis conformément à l’article 10(1) de la Loi de 2001 sur les municipalités, L.O. 2001, c. 25, et ne seront utilisés que par la Ville d’Ottawa ou par des partenaires professionnels offrant de la programmation pour communiquer des renseignements pertinents sur les activités ou à des fins de promotion. La Ville d’Ottawa ne divulgue aucune information sur les clients ni aucun autre renseignement personnel à des tiers indépendants, sauf si elle est légalement tenue de le faire.

Où s’asseoir

Veuillez cliquer sur le lien suivant pour prendre connaissance de la disposition des sièges dans la salle Harold Shenkman. Pour la plupart des événements, il est possible de choisir une place en particulier à partir du plan affiché en ligne. Lorsque vous commandez des billets par téléphone ou en personne, nous nous efforçons de vous donner une place dans la zone de votre choix. Salle Harold-Shenkman

Billet sur présentation

Vous pouvez récupérer les billets que vous avez commandés en vous présentant à la billetterie du Théâtre Centrepointe ou au bureau d’information (au deuxième étage) du Centre des Arts Shenkman. Veuillez avoir en main une pièce d’identité valide avec photo, la carte de crédit utilisée pour effectuer la commande et votre numéro de confirmation. À noter que vous devez récupérer vos billets au plus tard une demi-heure après le début du spectacle.

Haut ]

 

Politiques du théâtre

Allées

Afin d’assurer la sécurité des spectateurs et par respect pour les autres détenteurs de billet, veuillez ne pas vous asseoir dans les allées ni vous y tenir debout. Les allées doivent demeurer dégagées en tout temps.

Alcool

Lors de la plupart des événements qui ont lieu au théâtre, il est possible d’acheter des boissons alcoolisées. Les membres du personnel ont tous reçu la formation Smart Serve, programme provincial de service responsable de boissons alcoolisées. Les clients qui semblent avoir moins de 30 ans pourraient devoir présenter une pièce d’identité pour acheter de l’alcool. L’alcool doit être acheté et consommé sur place. La direction se réserve le droit de refuser de vendre de l’alcool à un client.

Appareils photo

Pendant les concerts, la politique relative à la photographie est laissée à la discrétion de l’artiste. Dans le cas des activités familiales, l’utilisation d’appareils photo est permise. Toutefois, la prise de photos est interdite au cours des spectacles, car elle distrait non seulement les artistes, mais aussi les autres spectateurs. L’utilisation de caméras vidéo et de magnétoscopes est strictement interdite. Tout manquement à cette politique sera sanctionné.

Cellulaires et téléavertisseur

Les cellulaires et téléavertisseurs doivent être mis en mode silencieux/vibration. Évitez d’envoyer des messages texte lorsque vous êtes au théâtre, sauf si l’artiste a précisé qu’il pouvait en être autrement.

Enfants et bébés

Tous les clients entrant dans les théâtres doivent être munis d’un billet. Lors des spectacles destinés aux enfants de six ans ou moins, un billet est offert gratuitement pour les bébés qui restent dans les bras de leurs parents, c’est-à-dire les enfants de 12 mois ou moins qui n’occupent pas de siège supplémentaire. Les parents ou accompagnateurs doivent venir chercher le billet à la billetterie le jour même du spectacle seulement.

Pour tous les autres spectacles, des billets doivent être achetés pour tous les spectateurs, peu importe leur âge. Les enfants qui nuisent à l’expérience des autres spectateurs risquent, avec leurs parents, d’être invités à quitter la salle.

Cette décision respecte les règlements du Code de prévention des incendies de l’Ontario qui stipulent que toute personne assistant à un spectacle doit détenir un billet d’entrée et avoir une place qui lui est assignée. Cette politique correspond aux normes du secteur partout au Canada. La mesure vise à assurer que l’on ne dépasse pas la capacité maximale de la salle et à garantir la sécurité de tous les spectateurs.

Existe-t-il des rabais pour les enfants, les bébés, les aînés, les étudiants ou les groupes?

C’est le producteur du spectacle (le client locateur) qui établit le prix des billets. Des rabais pour ces publics sont souvent proposés. Consultez la page Événements pour en savoir plus.

Respect des autres spectateurs

Veuillez faire preuve de respect envers les autres spectateurs. Toute personne qui dérange d’autres spectateurs peut se voir expulsée de l’immeuble. Le personnel et les bénévoles sont autorisés à refuser l’accès à des clients ou à demander à des clients de quitter les lieux.< br/>

Ouverture des portes

Le théâtre ouvre ses portes une demi-heure avant la tenue de l’événement.

Code vestimentaire

Comme le théâtre n’a pas adopté de code vestimentaire officiel, sa clientèle peut aussi bien porter des jeans et un t-shirt qu’une tenue de soirée. Si votre tenue vestimentaire vous préoccupe, nous vous recommandons de porter une tenue habillée décontractée ou de bureau. Vous n’aurez alors pas l’impression de porter des vêtements qui sont trop élégants ou qui ne le sont pas assez.

Numéros de téléphone importants en cas d’urgence

Veuillez mettre votre téléphone ou téléavertisseur en mode vibration pour recevoir des appels d’urgence. N’oubliez pas d’informer votre gardienne de votre numéro de siège, puisque le théâtre ne communique pas avec les clients par téléavertisseur pendant les spectacles.

Boisson et nourriture

Il est interdit de consommer des aliments dans l’auditorium, mais il est possible d’y boire de l’eau embouteillée. Les boissons alcoolisées sont permises dans le cas des événements pour lesquels un permis d’alcool a été délivré.

Conditions météorologiques défavorables

La direction du théâtre annule ou reporte rarement des événements en cas d’intempéries. Veuillez prendre note que tous les billets indiquent qu’ils ne sont ni échangeables ni remboursables. Si un événement devait être annulé ou reporté, nous publierions cette information dès que possible et nous communiquerions avec les détenteurs de billet pour les informer de la situation. Veuillez consulter régulièrement notre site Web ou communiquer avec nous par téléphone pour obtenir des renseignements de dernière minute.

Entractes

La plupart des spectacles de plus de 60 minutes comptent un entracte de 15 à 20 minutes.

Marchandise

Il arrive souvent que l’on vende des produits en lien avec les spectacles. Toutes les ventes doivent être réglées en argent comptant. Un guichet automatique est mis à votre disposition dans le foyer inférieur.

Théâtre sans parfum

Le Centre des Arts Shenkman est un environnement sans odeur. Nous demandons donc à nos clients d’éviter de porter des produits parfumés lorsqu’ils assistent à un spectacle ou événement dans le Centre.

Spectateurs se tenant debout

Nous demandons aux clients de demeurer assis pendant les spectacles. Pendant certains événements (comme des concerts), ils peuvent se tenir debout devant leur siège si la majorité des spectateurs fait de même. Certains artistes demandent au personnel de laisser les spectateurs se lever. Il est toutefois interdit de se tenir debout sur les sièges ou sur toute autre structure du bâtiment, sous peine d’expulsion.

[ haut ]